Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Dave23
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Dave

Backup and Replication jobs overlapping

Post by Dave23 »

I have 2 sites; a production site and a DR site. I am fairly new to Veeam B&R and had set up a B&R server at the production site with a local repository for backup jobs and a separate B&R server at the DR site for replication jobs. I only have one vCenter server which is located at the production site which manages all the ESX servers including the one at the DR site. I have multiple proxies at the production site and one proxy at the DR site. I run continuous replication on my critical VMs and perform daily backups after hours. I've been running into issues lately that I think are related to the backup and replication jobs overlapping each other since they run on separate B&R servers and are not aware of each other.

Would it be best practice to just have one B&R server at the DR site manage all backup and replication jobs? I would still only use proxies at the production site and a windows server at the production site for the repository. Then use that same B&R server at the DR site to manage the replication jobs. This way, the B&R server is aware of all the jobs and they will not overlap. Is this what others do in the same situation? It was suggested by one support engineer to set it up the way I currently have it, but the jobs have many errors and actually crashed one of my VMs because both servers were managing snapshots and locked one up. Is there a downside to managing your backup jobs from a different site if the proxies and repository will be at the production site with the live VMs?

Thanks,

Dave
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup and Replication jobs overlapping

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Dave,