Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
bryanmeche
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Bryan

DR Site / Same Subnet

Post by bryanmeche »

I'm new to Veeam and DR, so I'd like to know the best way to setup the following:

-We currently only have a single production site (vsphere).
-We will be buying a few servers plus a shared storage solution and placing them in a colocated data center for DR.
-We will place a Veeam server with a lot of storage both locally and at the DR site. The Veeam server will backup local, and push a copy of all backups to the DR site. We'll also use Amazon storage appliance so a third copy of our backup data is stored offsite.
-In a disaster we do not need replication so we will remote into the DR veeam server and begin restoring VMs. We also plan on doing this just to do for lab scenarios in our DR site.
-To fail back we'll take a backup of the server at the DR site and restore it back in live.

Now what I'm trying to figure out is how do I get my production Veeam server to talk with the DR Veeam server when a requirement is both Prod and DR need to be on the same subnet. Re-ip isn't an option in our case as we have a lot of applications setup where that wouldn't be friendly at all.

My thought is to have the Veeam server run two NICs on two different subnets but I'm curious to know how other people set this up with similar requirements. I figure NAT rules on the remote firewall is an option as well. We'll hopefully be up in a lab soon to test but I want to make sure I'm not making this over complicated.
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 168 times
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: DR Site / Same Subnet

Post by emachabert »

Perhaps i don't get the point here.
You want your DR site to be in the same IP subnet of your production site because you don't want any reip job to be done when failing over the Dr site ? Is that right ?