Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
wasc
Service Provider
Liked: never
Full Name: Alex

Query on CBT Performance

Post by wasc »

Hi,

I'm new to Veeam, but have been testing it on and off when I get time. I really like the product and interface, but have also always been confused by the speeds I get when using it. In particular, CBT doesn't seem to be as fast as I would have imagined it to be.

As an example, I have a Dell Equallogic SAN populated with 16 x 750Gb Sata drives which is lightly used (not used in a production environment, just used for test VM's).
This San is used as storage for a VMWare vsphere infrastructure which has a 30Gb Windows 2003 virtual machine in it, and also a Windows 2008 R2 virtual machine running Veeam 6. Everything is gigabit.

I ran my first backup job (which therefore would have no change block tracking enabled yet), and achieved a throughput of 25Mb a sec. Admittedly I'm reading from one SAN back onto the same SAN, but with 3 x gigabit links in the SAN I would have expected a faster throughput than 25Mb a sec. Even more confusing, I ran the job a second time straight away after the first backup completed as this would be where CBT should kick in and this time the job achieved 28Mb a sec, but still took 18minutes to run. The statistics said "Processed 32Gb, Read 30.5Gb, Transferred, 372.1Mb)" which makes it seem that it read through the entire disk. I thought changed block tracking kept track of which blocks on the disk have been updated, so when it's time to run the backup it doesn't have to read through the entire disk - it can just grab those specific blocks that are needed???

Could someone clarify if I'm doing something wrong with CBT, but also advise on the speeds if possible please. The final statistics on the job for the bottleneck was;

First (full) backup = Source 98% > Proxy 78% > Network 4% > Target 18%
Second (change block tracking incremental) = Source 99% > Proxy 54% > Network 0% > Target 0%