Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
geejaybee
Novice
Liked: never

Backing Up Oracle database VM (11g)

Post by geejaybee »

Hi,

We have recently aqcuired VEEAM for backup and replication. One of our main VMs is a large (400GB) Oracle database server. However since we deployed VEEAM we have come across a number of contradictory and frankly scary papers/posts about why you should NOT backup Oracle using any product that uses VMware snapshot technology. Admittedly some of this mis a couple of years old but there is a lot of recent stuff. Many even go so far as to say you should never snapshot an Oracle VM as it could cause major issues either on restore or in the event of snapshot removal. To be honest I have very little experience in this area so am interested in the communities comments as there seems to be a lot of real-world experience here.

Thanks,
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backing Up Oracle database VM (11g)

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

However since we deployed VEEAM we have come across a number of contradictory and frankly scary papers/posts about why you should NOT backup Oracle using any product that uses VMware snapshot technology.
Previously, VMs running obsolete versions of Oracle have to be backed up, using pre-freeze/ post-thaw-scripts in order to complete consistent backups of Oracle databases. In contrast, recent versions of Oracle Database running on Windows can be quiesced by VSS for backup, thus, the only thing that needs to be done in this case is enabling of Application Aware Image Proccesing option.

AAIP allows Veaam Backup and Replication to create transactionally consistent backup of a VM running VSS-aware applications without powering them off. Not only does it ensure successful VM recovery, as well as proper recovery of all applications installed on the VM without any data loss, but also it notifies applications about them being backed up.