PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
YeinYein
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 19, 2014 5:20 pm
Contact:

Change backup job repository

Post by YeinYein »

Hi Everyone,

I'd like to change the repository of a lot of backup job (more than 150). Indeed, I have a new repository and I want to loadbalance this 2 repository. I don't need to move data, only the Backup Repository of the Job.

I'd like to do it with PowerShell but I cannot find how to do it.

Can you help me ?

Thx
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20270
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Change backup job repository

Post by veremin »

With GUI, if you don't want to move files, the only available option is to copy existing backup job and change repository afterwards. The situation is the same with PowerShell.

Code: Select all

$Repository = Get-VBRBackupRepository "Name of new repository"
$Job = Get-VBRJob -name "Name of your Backup Job"
Copy-VBRJob -Job $Job -Repository $Repository
Thanks.
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14287
Liked: 2877 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Change backup job repository

Post by HannesK »

I have a customer who is migrating repositories and he likes to script the following:
- copy the backup files to the new repository
- set the job to the new repository

By copy / cloning the job he will loose the job history and the workaround sounds quite strange for him.

Do we have a direct way to set the repository with powershell today?
Asahi
Expert
Posts: 134
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Location: Japan
Contact:

[MERGED] I want to use PowerShell to change the Backup Repository set for a job to another Repository

Post by Asahi »

Hi,

I have a question about editing Veeam backup job using PowerShell.
Can I use PowerShell to change the Backup Repository set for a job to another Repository?

I checked the PowerShell reference guide, but unfortunately I could not find it.

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20270
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Change backup job repository

Post by veremin »

You need to clone existing job and change target repository during it. Thanks!
RubinCompServ
Service Provider
Posts: 259
Liked: 65 times
Joined: Mar 16, 2015 4:00 pm
Full Name: David Rubin
Contact:

Re: Change backup job repository

Post by RubinCompServ » 1 person likes this post

I'd like to submit this as a feature request. I am attempting to remove a SOBR, and I need to remap all of my backup jobs to their new repositories. It would be much easier to do this with PowerShell than to edit each job manually.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20270
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Change backup job repository

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Thank you for the feedback, we will see what can be done to improve this situation in future releases. Thanks!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests