sjmp
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Scott Parkis

More Questions on Backup - Retention and Archive

Post by sjmp »

Veeam newbie here.

Veeam 7.0.0.771

We are in a litigation hold - with no end date in sight. We need to keep Email and Data eternally.

Currently I have three backups running

Production - Daily 60 Days retention (Production backups)
Replication - Daily 14 Days retention (for DR separate strategy)
Backup Copy - Daily (not sure on retention) (For offsite copy of production backups?)

When I review the GFS strategy I am not clear on how Deleted data ( data deleted from production, but still required to be recorded in backup/archive for litigation hold purposes) is handled. If I run a monlthy, quarterly, yearly full - I would lose data that has been deleted from production. I am not sure if I run a monthly restore point for archiving (in backup copy) I know it will create a full backup copy and put aside - but i need to keep all the changes that occurred during the month itself. Not just a rolled up full.

Can some of the Veeam guru's/vets give me some suggestions on an approach that is sustainable?

a few questions -
1) Is a backup copy literally a copy of the production job? So if my production job runs daily, the backup copy will run right after?
2) Not clear on how the scheduling works for backup copy - In my production job I can specify a secondary destination - and point to the backup copy job. But within the backup copy job itself it asks "copy every"... 1 day, 2 days.... If you map the production job to the backup copy does that override (or become) the backup copy schedule?
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: More Questions on Backup - Retention and Archive

Post by veremin »

Hi, Scott,
Can some of the Veeam guru's/vets give me some suggestions on an approach that is sustainable?