Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Availability for the Modern Data Center

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:16 pm

It was only a matter of time ;-)

Same question for V6. Same procedure with the registry ?
stevenrodenburg1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 77
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:46 pm

Should be the same. You would be the first to try ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15924
Liked: 909 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:32 pm

Ok. I tried it on V6.

It is indeed the same principle.

1. Shutdown all Veeam Services on the master.
2. Move the database to another machine. I just copied the two DB files (DB+Log) to another SQL server and mounted the DB there.
3. Edit the registry on the master and modify the following keys:

Code: Select all
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlDatabaseName

and

Code: Select all
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Catalog\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Catalog\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup Catalog\SqlDatabaseName


Warning: The value of "SqlInstanceName" should be cleared/empty in both cases !!

4. Start Veeam and that's it.

What astonished me is that there is no authentication what so ever. At least not in the registry. No username and hashed password. Nothing. On the new SQL server, the Database is owned by an entirely different account etc. but it worked anyway. I expected an authentication failure.

Personally, i don't have a problem with it as i see no threat in a hacker getting access to the Veeam DB so easily, because what will he see? Nothing of interrest. Just the jobs and their configs.
Anyway, that's my point of view but i can see it being the start of a healthy security-discussion though :wink:
stevenrodenburg1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 77
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Change Veeam Backup/Replication SQL Database

Veeam Logoby captainflannel » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:09 pm

[merged]

We would like to change where our Veeam Backup/Replication database is located. We will be moving from a 'remote' sql server to a local SQL install on the Veeam Backup Server. We all plan to only use SQL Authentication. Is there any easy way to simply change the pointers of the application to point to our new desired location? I've asked support but the first response was to uninstall and re-install, I imagine there must be something easier.

I see the SQL Server instances saved in HKLM\SOFTWARE\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication
I see REG_SZ values for SQLServerName, SQLDatabaseName, SQLInstanceName, is there any documentation on what values can be used to supply SQL username/password for SQL Authentication
captainflannel
Member
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby captainflannel » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:49 pm

So when we would like to use a specified SQL User, instead of Windows Authentication to the Database, what or how do we provide the username/password?
captainflannel
Member
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:36 pm

SQL authentication is currently not supported by our product.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15924
Liked: 909 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby captainflannel » Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:07 pm

For proper disaster recovery I would suggest this as a feature request. If our AD Servers are virtual, and offline, how can we authenticate to the SQLServer to perform a restore?
captainflannel
Member
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:44 pm

Yep, this definitely makes sense.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15924
Liked: 909 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:52 am

captainflannel wrote:For proper disaster recovery I would suggest this as a feature request. If our AD Servers are virtual, and offline, how can we authenticate to the SQLServer to perform a restore?

To avoid such problems, and other potential chicken-egg problems. I do things differently: Infrastructure databases, veeam servers etc. are not domain-members at all in my designs. I make them fully independent from DNS and Active Directory so they can always find one another and they always work. I can always restore quickly and without trouble.
Until now, i never found reasons to have the databases of Veeam, VMware (vCenter, Composer, View-Event, Updatemanager) and some other infrastructure products on database-servers who are domain-members. No need at all.
Those kind of db-servers are **pure** infrastructure db-servers and i kill anyone who starts putting "application/production" databases on them (as they often require Windows integrated authentication).
stevenrodenburg1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 77
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:54 am

Good point, Steven!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15924
Liked: 909 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby captainflannel » Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:06 pm

Just to update with our progress. We have setup a Local Windows Account with the necessary Admin and Security requirements to Run VEEAM and SQL. Attached the SQL Databases to our dedicated physical VEEAM Server, and mapped the local windows account to DBO Role of the databases. Uninstalled VEEAM B&R and Enterprise Manager, Catalog Server. Reinstalled VEEAM B&R and pointed to the localhost SQL Instance and supplied the local windows username/password, same process for Enterprise Manager. So I will have to actually confirm, but I believe we are now completely ready for an AD/DNS failure, and can either run Instant Recovery/Replica Failover with our VEEAM box. This was our main concern, sorry to go off topic but my original thread was merged.
(I think just to be extra cautious I'll add all of the VEEAM servers and vsphere/esxi hosts to the VEEAM Server host file :) ! Would be nice if this could be a feature for such a Disaster Recovery Product)
captainflannel
Member
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby ChrisL » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:04 pm

If I may just hijack this thread (it's on-topic!)

I'm trying to relocate our SQL database to our enterprise SQL server running SQL2008. I've detached from the local SQL server, moved the files to the new server (well, copied, just in case) and attached them to the SQL instance on the remote server.

I've changed the various SQL location entries in the registry to point to the new server/instance but now the Veeam services will not start. If I roll everything back in the registry and point everything back to local then the services start as normal so the failing services must be related to the SQL database.

Might it be relevant that the local SQL is 2005 and the remote SQL is 2008..? As I understand it this shouldn't matter, but at the moment that's all I can assume, or maybe it's an authetication issue with the service credentials. I've tried the registry entries with the SqlInstanceName entries empty or populated but no joy either way.
ChrisL
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:04 pm
Full Name: Chris Leader

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby ChrisL » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:17 pm

Little update:

Seems it may have been related to the authentication of the Services. Previously the service was logging on as DOMAIN\Veeam, this is now DOMAIN\Administrator and the services have started correctly
ChrisL
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:04 pm
Full Name: Chris Leader

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby cffit » Tue May 08, 2012 9:44 pm

I'm in the same boat as this last comment. I moved from SQL 2005 Express to SQL 2008 R2 Express on the same server. I tried the registry edits, but then the Backup and Replication service wouldn't start. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling B&R 6, and still the services hang at the end. I checked the 2005 database and I can't find any mention of the service account that B&R was running as all along, as if it was never set as a user on the database, so I don't know if in 2008 R2 you have to manually assign some permissions. I don't 'want to just set my domain admin account as the service account either.
cffit
Expert
 
Posts: 149
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Full Name: Christensen Farms

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 09, 2012 10:24 am

Christensen, your Veeam B&R service account should have access to the database otherwise it won't be able to start. Please grant the required permissions, if it doesn't help, please open a support ticket with our technical team. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 12108
Liked: 455 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests