Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jgspitler
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Joe Spitler

SQL Backup Jobs

Post by jgspitler »

I am a SQL Server consultant. I know little about Veeam. I have a client that uses Veeam. I have noticed that the Veeam backups actually record when a database is backed up in the SQL log file just the a regular SQL back-up job does when scheduled through the SQL job agent. In place of the path and file name of the BAK file file there is a GUID.

My client has SQL jobs scheduled for nightly full backups and differential backups every four hours during the day. They also have Veeam backups scheduled. Here's the pattern:

12:00 AM - SQL Full
4:00 AM- SQL Diff
5:00 AM - Veeam full backup. In the sql log I see a full backup at 5 AM.
8:00 AM SQL diff.
... diffs every 4 hours.

At 9 AM when I looked at the backup chain in SQL it is indeed indicated that a full backup was taken at 5 AM (Veeam backup) with the SQL diff having been taken at 8 AM.

This is all good and well if indeed at 5 AM Veeam did in fact run a "SQL Server" backup and that I do have BAK file I can use in combined the differential that was taken at 8 AM.

Is Veeam running a true blue SQL backup and producing a BAK file that can then restore with using a SQL Restore command?

Thanks.

Joe
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1926 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: SQL Backup Jobs

Post by dellock6 »

Hi Joe, no it does not. What happens is Veeam invokes VSS libraries to freeze the db, takes a copy of the entire VM after vCenter has issued a VM snapshot, and if the backup job )of the entire VM) is successful, it truncates the logs. So yes is correct technically is a full DB backup, but you do not have the bak available, when you need a restore you recover directly the mdf/ldf files from the backup.