Veeam slow suddenly

#1 VM Backup : Modern Data Protection for VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby sven.hanke@kwenet.de » Thu May 03, 2012 3:16 pm

We have installed Veeam on one physical server (W2K8R2, '16GB Ram Raid 5 with Veeam BackupRepository = 5 * 2 TB SATA)
and have made ​​a backup of a VM.
First a full backup at 25 MB / s without any adjustments
Second an incremental backup with 255 MB / s with no adjustments

now we have only 5MB / s for inkremental

the 8 Gbit Fibre Channel adapter has minimal load

I've created a backup proxy manually assign the DataStore

Veeam reports only:

:: Load: Source 99%> 51% proxy> Network 0%> Target 0%
:: Primary bottleneck: Source

The two ESXi's minimum load we only have 7 VMs.


Does anyone have any idea?
sven.hanke@kwenet.de
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:08 pm
Full Name: Sven Hanke

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu May 03, 2012 4:05 pm

Sven, what transport mode is effectively being used by the proxy (and which was used previously, during the first and second job runs)? You can see it when selecting the particular VM to the left in the Realtime Statistics window (to move between job sessions, use arrows).

Do you see that behavior for all your VMs or for the specific VMs only?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6582
Liked: 366 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu May 03, 2012 5:35 pm

In addition, to be sure SAN mode is beeing used, you can force this by editing the proxy settings, so at least transport mode can be excluded from the possible reasons of slowness (I think Alexander is suspecting an unwanted but possible failover to network mode...)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Evangelist @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam MVP
 
Posts: 2060
Liked: 381 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby sven.hanke@kwenet.de » Thu May 10, 2012 6:52 am

Hello dellock6,

in the configuration i have checkt the direct San Access and uncheckt the failover to network mode. the backupproxy is the server who i have installed the Veeam he has an 8GBit FC HBA to the SAN.
sven.hanke@kwenet.de
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:08 pm
Full Name: Sven Hanke

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby sven.hanke@kwenet.de » Thu May 10, 2012 7:03 am

today i take a look on my VeeamServer, the SQL-Server of Veeam has 70% off CPU load from my 7 Jobs are 5 standing on detecting 2 Jobs are running very slow with 374 kbit.
after i have stop the jobs the CPU load is normaly
sven.hanke@kwenet.de
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:08 pm
Full Name: Sven Hanke

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu May 10, 2012 12:27 pm

Are you using internal SQL Express service (that installed during Veeam setup)? I've got too some performance problem with SQL slowing down backups and eventually crashing some of them, but in my scenario Veeam is in a VM with 6 Gb ram and I'm saving hundreds of VMs, so nothing comparable with you.
What are the bottleneck stats now with explicit san access settings?
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Evangelist @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam MVP
 
Posts: 2060
Liked: 381 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby sven.hanke@kwenet.de » Thu May 10, 2012 12:33 pm

the bottleneck is with 95% Souce, i think as souce it means the proxy and as proxy is configured my server how i have installed Veeam, BackupExec, Veeam One but in other installations this works fine.
sven.hanke@kwenet.de
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 2:08 pm
Full Name: Sven Hanke

Re: Veeam slow suddenly

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu May 10, 2012 12:46 pm

No, source is the source storage you are extracting vmdks from, proxy is listed apart as you can see :)
Uhm, pure guess, are there any cuncurrent job running on the datastores that are maybe slowing down the storage? FC fabric is correctly configured?
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Evangelist @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam MVP
 
Posts: 2060
Liked: 381 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], foggy, tsightler and 15 guests