Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rfn
Expert
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Replicating continuously

Post by rfn »

Hi,

I'm in the process of configuring Veaam Backup v5 and is trying out the replication feature to see if it's a better solution than using EqualLogic replication. Veeam Backup has the option to backup and replicate "continuously", which would mean that data is replicated as soon as possible.

Wouldn't this keep a live snapshot constantly on the datastore, or force a lot of create/remove snaphot operations? Won't that hurt datastore performance a lot to have snapshots on there all the time for alle VM's? I'm no expert but have read a lot about some locking that occurs whenever as snapshot is present on a VM on a datastore.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: Replicating continuously

Post by Gostev »

Hello, that is correct - this will result in a lot of create/remove snaphot operations, and so this mode should be used wisely. Every snapshot operation puts additional load on datastore. However, many SAN (for example, Dell Equallogic with the 5.0.2 firmware) now implement VAAI (search this forum) that essentially enables hardware-assisted snapshots and locking. As a result, these activities are offloaded from ESX to the storage array, potentially making such continuous replication a very real possibility for certain types of workloads.
ctchang
Expert
Liked: 1 time

Post by ctchang »

I woud like to add more to this.

An updated review from InfoWorld about New EqualLogic firmware takes a load off VMware
http://www.infoworld.com/print/140856