Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

VMware specific discussions

Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby byron » Sun May 26, 2013 12:43 am

Hi all,
Nice to meet you..... I'm Fabio.
I've a problem to BackUp 2 Virtual Machine.
My infrastructure is composed of 2 host VMware 5.0 in HA and ten VM.
I do correctly reversed incremental and full backUps for 8 vm while 2 VM (OS Server 2008R2) Veeam B&R give me right backup but in the Storage I find less than 20MB VBK files where the VMs are bigger.
I tried to delete and recreate the Jobs. Change the parameters in the job, change the repository. veeam upgrade from version 6.1 to 6.5 with no results.
I can understand what's the problem.

Thanks for any help...

Fabio
byron
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 9:19 pm
Full Name: Fabio

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun May 26, 2013 11:07 am

Hi Fabio,

Can you please tell me what other files you have on the target repository? Have you tried running any restore operations from these files? For ex. Instant VM Recovery?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 12108
Liked: 455 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby byron » Mon May 27, 2013 6:43 am

Hi Vitaliy,
thanks for your support....
I tried to do on the BackUp Storage in FC LUN on dedicated for Veeam Backups. Locally and also on the NAS via SCSI LUN on dedicated for backups of 2 Virtual Machine. I have not tried to do the recovery again. I will try it today then I'll upgrade.

Fabio
byron
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 9:19 pm
Full Name: Fabio

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 27, 2013 7:06 am

Also what happens if you manually run active full backup, will get a .vbk file of reasonable size or it still be approximately 20 mb?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5375
Liked: 372 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby byron » Mon May 27, 2013 10:15 am

If i run a manually job i get the same file about 20 mb where my VM is bigger than 100GB!!
I done it on different repository too.
byron
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 9:19 pm
Full Name: Fabio

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 27, 2013 10:20 am

My point was not to manually run the job, but right-click on it, instead, and then choose Active Full backup. Is that what you did?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5375
Liked: 372 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Issue backup VM on Host VMWare

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 27, 2013 10:24 am

Is there a chance that this VM has disks of an unsupported disk type (e.g. independent disks or RDM)? Those are automatically skipped during backup process and there should be a corresponding message logged in the job statistics window for that VM in case of skipping one of its disks, you can check there.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6678
Liked: 375 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests