Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

VMware specific discussions

Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:40 am

Hello,
Veeam Server:
pNIC-0 beside vSphere Management on different subnet 172.16.x.x
pNIC-1 beside production network on 192.168.10.x

Other proxies and Repository servers are located on 172.16.x.x network.
Is it possible to add another proxy to set beside the Production network on 192.168.10.x ?

Thanks,
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:22 am

Yes, why not? Your backup server has two network interfaces and if you're able to access your production network from the backup server, then you can deploy additional proxy servers that will belong to 192.168.10.x network.
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 10810
Liked: 363 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:28 am

Hi,
Code: Select all
11/29/2012 2:22:50 PM :: No available proxies are running on ESX(i) management interface subnet. Using proxy from a different subnet, performance may be impacted.


But whenever I run the job that targeting the proxy on my production, I was getting DNS error, I made sure Name resolution is perfect and in additional to that I added the proxy name/IP into etc file in Veeam Server and Added the Veeam Server name/IP in etc file as well.
Code: Select all
11/29/2012 1:10:08 PM :: Error: Client error: This is usually a temporary error during hostname resolution and means that the local server did not receive a response from an authoritative server


I removed the server and I added it by IP only and I'm getting
Code: Select all
11/29/2012 2:24:06 PM :: Error: Client error: Failed to connect to the port [192.168.10.91:2501].
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:30 am

Just to highlight why I'm doing this;

I'm doing this to try putting HotAdd proxy from production which is beside the Exchange Server at least/may be I will get rid of the VSS Error I'm encounter.

Thanks,
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:38 am

Code: Select all
11/29/2012 2:22:50 PM :: No available proxies are running on ESX(i) management interface subnet. Using proxy from a different subnet, performance may be impacted.

You can ignore this message, since this proxy is deployed within the same site and the performance shouldn't be impacted.
Code: Select all
11/29/2012 2:24:06 PM :: Error: Client error: Failed to connect to the port [192.168.10.91:2501].

It looks like a firewall issue to me, unrelated to the proxy server location.
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 10810
Liked: 363 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:43 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:It looks like a firewall issue to me, unrelated to the proxy server location.

I have added 2500-5001 in the Proxy as TCP and UDP and same in the Veeam Server.. But it didn't work :(

Is there any other ports I have to add? i have even allowed everything in all firewall profiles.
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:50 am

There is an existing discussion with the same error message, please take a look: Failed to connect to port (Server:2501)

P.S. the required ports list can be found in our User Guide, might be worth double-checking if you have configured everything correct.
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 10810
Liked: 363 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:56 am

Under Backup Infrastructure -> Microsoft Windows when I right click on the proxy server -> Ports and Rescan ports 6160 & 6162 it rescan them without any issue.
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:28 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:There is an existing discussion with the same error message, please take a look: Failed to connect to port (Server:2501)

P.S. the required ports list can be found in our User Guide, might be worth double-checking if you have configured everything correct.


Hello, This post didn't help.. I have tried all the possible tricks mentioned.
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:33 pm 1 person likes this post

In this case please contact our support team and let one of our engineers verify your setup.
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 10810
Liked: 363 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:55 pm

habibalby wrote: I'm doing this to try putting HotAdd proxy from production which is beside the Exchange Server at least/may be I will get rid of the VSS Error I'm encounter.


Since the Veeam server itself performs the VSS (not the proxy) I have no idea how this could possibly help this problem.

Regarding the actual problem you are asking about (proxy on another subnet), can you access your Mgmnt network from the Production network or are they totally isolated? Proxies must be able to communicate with the ESXi hosts and the vCenter server.
tsightler
Veeam MVP
 
Posts: 3208
Liked: 686 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby habibalby » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:10 am

Hello,
Thanks Tom for you replay, the vSphere Mgmnt network is totally isolated from any other network. Since the proxy must reach the ESXi/vCenter, in this case this logic will not work for me.

I just read in one of the forums that by placing proxy server beside the Exchange Server, the VSS error will go away.. I don't know if it's right or wrong.

Thanks,
habibalby
Expert
 
Posts: 312
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:30 am
Location: Bahrain
Full Name: Hussain Al Sayed

Re: Veeam Server on Subnet & Proxy on another Subnet

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:47 am

Proxy server placement shouldn't have any effect on the Exchange Server VSS freeze operations, at least I do not see how it can help in solving VSS issues.
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 10810
Liked: 363 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cpfleger and 9 guests