Business categorization for your virtual environment
Post Reply
ricardo.simoes
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 29, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Business View - Virtual Machines - OS version does not appear

Post by ricardo.simoes »

Hi,
Some of the Linux VMs, in the business view menu (Virtual Machines view), don't show the OS version or the computer name.
* The same happens in VBR in Virtual Infrastructure

Anyone have an idea what it could be?

Best Regards,
Ricardo

ricardo.simoes
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 29, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Business View - Virtual Machines - OS version does not appear

Post by ricardo.simoes » 1 person likes this post

I think I found the solution. Is related to Hyper-V integration

I used the following command in ubuntu:
'sudo apt -y install linux-virtual linux-cloud-tools-virtual linux-tools-virtual'

Although not directly related to the topic below. I took the "idea" from there.

microsoft-hyper-v-f25/production-backup ... 67366.html

"Ubuntu 20.04 is supposed to have Hyper-V integration built in. It sort of does; all the Hyper-V modules get installed and loaded by default. However, there are a couple of daemons that have to be installed to give full Hyper-V support, one of which is for VSS. The correct information for 20.04 is not easy to find and I did try and check all this when originally installing Ubuntu. As Production Checkpoints 'appeared' to be working, I didn't investigate any further and thought it was a Veeam problem."

I hope it helps
Best regards,
Ricardo

RomanK
Veeam Software
Posts: 126
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Business View - Virtual Machines - OS version does not appear

Post by RomanK »

Hello Ricardo, thank you for the research. Indeed, the absence of some daemons could be the root cause.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest