Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Business categorization for your virtual environment

Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:17 pm

Hello

I'm starting to explore the VEEAM one solution which I find to be a great product, testing on my pilot environment went perfect, I ran everything with an Admin account for the VCenter and all looked great, Bussines View, Reporter and Monitor. However on my Prod environment I ran it with a read-only account, when trying to collect data using Business View I get the error below,

My Read-Only account also has datastore.browse permissions, what else might I be missing here?

Thanks!.

I'm getting the following error when running
Code: Select all
6/15/2012 10:02:46 AM [info]: Getting containers
6/15/2012 10:02:46 AM [info]: Containers retrieved
6/15/2012 10:02:46 AM [info]: Initializing data collector
6/15/2012 10:02:46 AM [info]: Initializing connection
6/15/2012 10:02:46 AM [info]: Connecting to "VCServerxxxx.domain.com" with user "domain\service account"...
6/15/2012 10:02:48 AM [info]: VCServerxxxx.domain.com
6/15/2012 10:02:48 AM [info]: VCServerxxxx.domain.com: Initializing connection completed.
6/15/2012 10:02:48 AM [info]:VCServerxxxx.domain.com: Retrieving VI infrastructure...
[color=#FF0000]6/15/2012 10:02:50 AM [error]: Failed to RetrieveProperties: "". Insufficient privileges. You need to have 'System.Read' privilege on 'Folder:group-d1' object.[/color]
6/15/2012 10:02:50 AM [info]: VCServerxxxx.domain.com: Data collection failed
6/15/2012 10:02:50 AM [info]: VCServerxxxx.domain.com: Data collection completed for all objects.
6/15/2012 10:02:50 AM [error]: Business View job has failed. Performing rollback to the previous session state...
6/15/2012 10:02:50 AM [info]: Rollback to the previous session state has been completed.
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:15 pm

Hi Hans,

Have you assigned a read-only account to the entire vCenter Server? What about other permissions (see below) mentioned in the our Deployment Guide?
Deployment Guide wrote:• VirtualMachine.Interact.AnswerQuestion*
• Global.Manage custom attributes**
• Global.Set custom attribute**
• Datastore.Browse datastore

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:54 pm

Thanks for your prompt reply,

I have only assigned Read-Only Access to the entire VCenter as well as "Datastore.Browse datastore"

Do I need the other ones? I don't want to set any custom attributes just yet.
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:56 pm

Not really, I just wanted to make sure you have all required permissions in place. Based on the error message you do not have permissions on "Folder:group-d1", does this name make any sense to you?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:15 pm

If I log in through HTTP on my VC and go to "Browse Objects Managed by VSphere"

I can see a reference to this on Service Content.

Name Type Value
rootFolder ManagedObjectReference:Folder group-d1 (Datacenters)

Not really sure what this is though.
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:29 pm

Looks like read-only permission has not been assigned properly. Could you please tell me if you've assigned it on a vCenter Server level? Have you propagated it?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:36 pm

Yes, read only permissions were assigned directly on VCenter, created a role with Read-Only Access and Datastore.Browse and propagated to all child objects.
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:37 pm

By the way, Veeam One Monitor app is not showing any errors, I I can see all available properties in Infrastructure view. Issue seems to be only on Business View
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Jun 16, 2012 4:12 pm

Unfortunately, I have no other ideas what might be causing this issue, as it works fine for me. Try specifying read only permissions on your datacenter exclusively, might help.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Bussines View error with Read-Only Account

Veeam Logoby Hans81 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 7:26 pm

Thanks for your help, I was able to sort this out after doing a clean install of Veeam One.
Hans81
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:55 pm


Return to Business View



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests