Business categorization for your virtual environment
tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by tjestr » Feb 01, 2010 9:52 pm

I thinkt it would be best to let the user choose how many groups will be displayed. (My screen is big enough to show 12 groups, for others that's maybe too much.) I would prefer a second (or third...) graph at the buttom of the first graph's chart instead of summarizing it.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22435
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 02, 2010 9:21 am

Falko,

That makes sence for sure, I don't think it will be hard to implement this option which will filter the groups. And as Anton has already said, we could only show TOP groups for your environment by default.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by tjestr » Feb 02, 2010 11:20 am

Another thing I've recognized is the Storage,GB chart row. Currently it shows the provisioned space. It would be great if you can add another row with the used space.
I know that this is a highly dynamic value, but it would be interesting to know. The same for memory. (allocated memory & active memory)

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by tjestr » Feb 10, 2010 9:30 am

Another thing which came into my mind is, that it would be great if the Business View website could be implemented in Backup Enterprise Manager website (maybe as additional tabs).
Maybe you could think of a website for Veeam Monitor too to have a full, web enabled toolset available.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Gostev » Feb 10, 2010 10:00 am

Falko, this is interesting idea :) we have to think about it. Backup Enterprise Manager website already has quite a few tabs (will have more in the next release), so I am not sure if adding other product's tabs will look good - too many unrelated tabs on the same "level" will probably be confusing.

tjestr
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 05, 2009 9:33 am
Full Name: Falko Dohse
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by tjestr » Mar 23, 2010 10:20 am

Any news on a release date of the new version?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Gostev » Mar 23, 2010 10:24 am

We will release update release shortly (along with Reporter 4.0), but in parallel we are already working on major update and plan to release it in a few months.

FloonDog
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 17, 2010 6:20 pm
Full Name: Tim Porreca
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by FloonDog » Jun 11, 2010 4:38 pm

BV needs to sync with VC custom fields, not just populate them. Editing in VC is so much easier since you can cut and paste and use the arrows to move from field to field vs bring up the slow BV interface and changing each server one by one. I also have existing fields with data I would love to have in BV where I could report on them, but there is no way to get the data into BV. It's a great 1.0 product, looking forward to more polish in 2.0.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Gostev » Aug 19, 2010 7:41 pm

mhanbury wrote:Any chance we can get the Guest OS Field listed on the output report?
jgremillion wrote:I like this tool and find it useful. I would like to recommended an enhancement to the rules. I would be nice if there was a rule to search for "does not contain."
These were implemented in 1.0.3, enjoy! :wink:

MB-NS
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2009 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by MB-NS » Sep 26, 2010 7:34 am

Gostev wrote:Falko, this is interesting idea :) we have to think about it. Backup Enterprise Manager website already has quite a few tabs (will have more in the next release), so I am not sure if adding other product's tabs will look good - too many unrelated tabs on the same "level" will probably be confusing.
Hello, what would be nice is integration with Veeam B&R jobs (not only with enterprise Manager).
I find myself having to create a log of folders in VC in order to have a dynamic job :
- a root folder to include VM in the job
- subfolders to select which VM should have VSS integration or not, or with specific Windows accounts

These requirements interferes with other needs (VM visibility in the tree) and thus are not ideal.
Being able to select VM by Groups or Categories would be best, especially as it would avoid Veeam the need to implement similar features for B&R (which I am sure were asked).

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22435
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 27, 2010 8:25 am

Hello Mathieu,

Yes, we've been thinking about integration of Veeam Backup and Replication with Business View, I believe we will be able to implement it in our future releases of VBR, but thanks for a great feedback!

MB-NS
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2009 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by MB-NS » Oct 02, 2010 8:54 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Mathieu,

Yes, we've been thinking about integration of Veeam Backup and Replication with Business View, I believe we will be able to implement it in our future releases of VBR, but thanks for a great feedback!
Hello, are we talking about something like VBR 5.0.1 or 5.1, or more like VBR 6 ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Gostev » Oct 02, 2010 11:02 pm

Hello, more like future releases.

PHBG
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 30, 2011 8:50 am
Full Name: Petar Havezov
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by PHBG » May 30, 2011 9:08 am

Hello,
in the Business View I found some misunderstanding in a Host Tab about CPU Frequency calculation.
There is nothing about core number info. CPU Frequency (GHz) is not very true, because is not calculated the number of CPU (sockets) and number of Cores per CPU (only number of host). And very powerful host seems like a poor CPU resource host.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22435
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Feature Requests

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 30, 2011 10:08 am

Hello Petar,

Thanks for the feedback, as for now you may want to create additional host category that will automatically categorize your hosts based on the CPU cores number, so you could have an accurate picture.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest