Migrate v2 to v6

Business categorization for your virtual environment

Migrate v2 to v6

Veeam Logoby vmbackupuser » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:30 pm

Hi,
I've read that its not possible to upgrade BusinessView from v2 to v6.

1. However, is there any workaround to migrate the already categorised data from the v2 DB to the new v6 DB?

2. Can VeeamONE v6 be installed on the same server as BusinessView v2?

regards,
vmbackupuser
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:18 pm

Re: Migrate v2 to v6

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:10 am

Hi Sip,

Yes, due to a complete merge of three different products, it is not possible to upgrade from standalone BV (Monitor or Reporter) to Veeam ONE.

1. Yes, you can use vCenter Server custom attributes for that. If you have these attributes applied to your VMs, then the only thing you should do is to map these attributes from vCenter Server to Veeam ONE v6 database.
2. It's better to use a clean machine for that, as Veeam ONE is using the same ports as BV, besides I'm not quite sure about collection services coexistence.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Migrate v2 to v6

Veeam Logoby Vitaly.Mzokov » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:17 am

vmbackupuser wrote:is there any workaround to migrate the already categorised data from the v2 DB to the new v6 DB?,


Hello Sip,

Please feel free to contact our support team and ask for help and assistance on mapping current custom attributes to a new Veeam ONE Business View installation.
Vitaly.Mzokov
Expert
 
Posts: 173
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:30 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Mzokov


Return to Business View



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests