Backup of NAS, file shares, file servers and object storage.
SPITech
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Sara Ghosn

Periodic full backups

Post by SPITech »

Hi,
I am new to Veeam backup and recovery. Currently we are using the Community edition to back up file shares on a Windows 2012 server to a NAS.
It's working great but seems to be in forever forward incremental mode. I would like to be able to schedule periodic full backups of the fileshares and can't see a way to do this.
Thank you for your help!
Sara
nikolaj
Expert
Liked: 57 times

Re: Periodic full backups

Post by nikolaj »

Hi Sara,

VBR's is designed to perform one initial file share backup to be then followed by a forever incremental chain henceforth.
More on that could be found in our user guide article.

Perhaps, starting a new backup chain for your share would cover your objective of offloading periodic full backups.

Thanks.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6700 times

Post by Gostev »

SPITech wrote: Aug 11, 2021 9:16 pmI would like to be able to schedule periodic full backups of the fileshares
What is the reason for you wanting to do this? Because Veeam likely covers them with existing functionality and in a better way.
SPITech
Novice

Post by SPITech »

Thanks so much for your response.
I suppose the rationale for periodic full backups is just insurance in case over time the initial full backup becomes corrupted in some way. It's a redundancy practice. But perhaps I am missing something in the design of forever forward incremental backups?
Gostev
Chief Product Officer

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post