Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
KenSingleton
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 31, 2019 8:27 am
Full Name: Ken Singleton
Contact:

Active Full Same Time as Replication

Post by KenSingleton » Feb 13, 2019 11:11 am

Hi,

Just a quick question.
Is it safe to run a manual Active Full backup at the same time that Replication is happening?
If not should I disable the replication jobs until the Active full is complete?

Kind regards,
Ken

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 593
Liked: 126 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Active Full Same Time as Replication

Post by Rick.Vanover » Feb 13, 2019 11:55 am

I will admit I'm not answering you question, but I would rather build the replica from the full backup. The source button on the replica wizard can do that. Gives a number of benefits: reduced I/O on primary, same restore point for backup & replication and its just smart.

This means the backup will happen, the replica will be built with the data "sourced" from the VBK vs the live VM.

This way you don't have to be as specific on timing to even consider doubling up as the replica can happen outside of the backup window.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3656
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Active Full Same Time as Replication

Post by HannesK » Feb 13, 2019 2:45 pm

Hello,
to answer the question: it's safe in the sense of it does not break anything. It might result in failed jobs depending how long it takes. To avoid that, you could disable the replication job.

I just started a backup during replication and got this "Machine is locked by another task"

Image

and "waiting for backup infrastructure to become ready"
Image

@Rick: I have seen the scenario with backup & replication usually when the replication RPO is much smaller (let's say 1h) than the backup RPO (lets's say 24h).

Best regards,
Hannes

KenSingleton
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 31, 2019 8:27 am
Full Name: Ken Singleton
Contact:

Re: Active Full Same Time as Replication

Post by KenSingleton » Feb 13, 2019 3:24 pm

Hi Chaps,

Thanks for the responses.
I think I will err on the side of caution and disable the replication jobs before running the Active Full.
Having several tasks trying to access the same VMs through VSS seems like a recipe for trouble to me.

Kind regards,
Ken

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3656
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Active Full Same Time as Replication

Post by HannesK » Feb 13, 2019 3:27 pm

they don't try - they wait to avoid conflicting situations :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests