Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Hyper-V specific discussions

Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Veeam Logoby kynov » Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:47 pm

I've run into this problem a few times and I am trying to understand what I am doing wrong--

Let's say I have a VM called 'VM1' and it's running on a Hyper-V host called "HOST1".

I then add a new physical volume to the host and mount it at C:\SAN\VMDATA. I then create a .vhdx in this location and attach it to 'VM1'.

I update the inventory and make sure the new storage is recognized but whenever the backup runs, it fails . If I logon to "HOST1" and check the event log the error message is "Could not create backup checkpoint for virtual machine 'VM1': General access denied error (0x80070005)." The only way I have got it to work is if I change the "Checkpoint File Location" in Hyper-V manager to the new .vhdx storage location.

Is there a better way to be handling this or is there a step that I am missing?
kynov
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 3:38 pm
Full Name: Chris R

Re: Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:42 am

Hello Chris,
Have you tried to make a checkpoint of the VM from Hyper-V Manager UI?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:57 pm

Chris, I have made a quick google search and have found this post. Do you possibly see the same behavior?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Veeam Logoby kynov » Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:14 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the replies. I actually do see the issue. I placed the .vhdx of the new volume in the root of the drive. I simply created a folder and moved the .vhdx into it and all is good. Thanks!
kynov
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 3:38 pm
Full Name: Chris R

Re: Adding volumes to Hosts/VMs

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:32 am

Thanks for the update. Is there any reason why you don't store the entire VM on the CSV disk?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests