Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
wilsonb05
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 13, 2018 5:32 pm
Full Name: Bailey Wilson
Contact:

Backing up a cluster and standalone hosts

Post by wilsonb05 » Dec 13, 2018 5:35 pm

A few quick questions one of our customers is wanting to backup there hyper v cluster and also some stand alone hosts that are outside the cluster. In terms of a proxy do they need a proxy for the cluster and one to do the stand-alone hosts or will one proxy be enough for both. Also does the proxy need to be part of the cluster ?

The next question is they want to do all the backup traffic on there storage network , this wouldn't be a problem apart from the cluster only has a production IP address is it possible to give the cluster another IP on a different range ?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6970
Liked: 710 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backing up a cluster and standalone hosts

Post by Shestakov » Dec 13, 2018 6:25 pm

Hello Bailey and welcome to the community!
2 proxies are not needed unless you want to backup the hosts and cluster in parallel. Check how much time each backup job takes and see if proxy is a bottleneck at all.
As for the traffic, yes you can give the cluster another IP. Do you want to route traffic from the cluster to backup proxy?
Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up a cluster and standalone hosts

Post by foggy » Dec 14, 2018 1:11 pm

If you plan to backup a cluster using off-host mode, you need a proxy on a host that is not a part of a cluster (could be one of your standalone hosts).

wilsonb05
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 13, 2018 5:32 pm
Full Name: Bailey Wilson
Contact:

Re: Backing up a cluster and standalone hosts

Post by wilsonb05 » Dec 17, 2018 1:36 pm

Hi all, thanks for the replies that really helped. I have just realised if I add the repository using its storage network ip it will force the proxy to send the traffic across the storage network (in theory)
I will give this all a try and feedback.

Cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests