Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Hyper-V specific discussions

Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby ajtsystems » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:43 am

Hi,

I'm 15% way through an initial copy of a Backup job which is copying 13 Hyper-V VMs. Its copying fairly well and at some point in the coming days it will complete, I have a few questions

1: Is there a timeout setting for the VM copy that I can enable so that if the VPN drops out it will wait for it to come back up?
2: Once the initial job is finished will the subsequent jobs be incremental? I don't see any options for this and obviously its a copy job so will it just start a fresh copy. Is there anything I can do with the restore points option maybe?

Thanks
ajtsystems
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:02 am
Full Name: James Bennett

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:54 am

Hi James,

1. Resume option is available if you use WAN accelerators. Do you use backup copy or backup jobs?
2. Yes, next runs will be incremental.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby ajtsystems » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:00 am

Hi,

Its a Backup Copy job. The backup accelerator looks good but I only have a NAS box at the other end of the 100 MB leased line and no Windows\Linux O\S, would this still be an option?

James
ajtsystems
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:02 am
Full Name: James Bennett

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:08 am

I'm wondering how this device is connected to the backup console. As a CIFS share? If so, you have to have proxying server deployed at remote location through which the data will be written to the said device.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:11 am

You need to have WAN accelerator deployed on the target site in order to use the resume option. BTW, how did you expose your NAS box to the backup server? As a CIFS repository?

Also if you're worried about potential connection drops, I would recommend to pre-seed your backup copy jobs and run just incremental passes.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby ajtsystems » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:16 am

Hi,

Yes, just a CIFs share, seems to work well. The NAS is actually on my desk but plugged into a BT Infinity Fibre broadband line. I could easily get it on the network to Seed the backup.
As for the incremental, after the first backup copy do incremental just kick in??
ajtsystems
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:02 am
Full Name: James Bennett

Re: Backup Job across a 100mb leased line

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:19 am

Yes, all other runs will be incremental. Even though it works well now, I would still recommend to follow Vladimir's advice, because you definitely want to keep all the transform traffic in the off-site location (with CIFS repository backup data will be sent back and forth over the WAN link without proxying server).
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests