Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
jprates
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 19, 2020 2:04 pm
Full Name: Jeferson Lopes Prates
Contact:

Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by jprates »

I have a backup job for hyper-v that is using 100% host memory. We are using the on-host option, with a job and only one VM.
Is it possible to limit the use of memory on the on-host in any way?
We are already doing one task at a time.

Windows Serve 2008
Veem B&R - V10

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1761
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Hi Jeferson,

There is no option to control memory consumption on Veeam data movers. You can try changing Compression\Deduplication settings in the job, but I doubt that will have much effect.
Your behavior does seem abnormal, and taking a fact your production system is quite outdated it would be best to troubleshoot with Support - feel free to open a ticket.

/Thanks!

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4801
Liked: 944 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by Andreas Neufert »

By design a task slot can take up to 2 GB of Memory. Do you mean you do not have this resource available ?

Can you give an example ?
And is the Veeam Server running on the Hyper-V server directly as well ?

jprates
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 19, 2020 2:04 pm
Full Name: Jeferson Lopes Prates
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by jprates »

Andreas,

My Proxy Server is onhost and have available 16GB memory. But when execute backup the Veeam is using all hyper-v (Proxy on-host) server memory.
VM Size to backup is 900GB

My veeam server is running on another structure (VMware).

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by foggy »

What is the backup repository in this case and how many disks does the VM have in question have?

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4801
Liked: 944 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Strange... maybe Antivirus on the host checking our network traffic and consuming therefore that amount of RAM?

As well what compression level did you have selected in the job?

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4801
Liked: 944 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Backup Job is using too much memory

Post by Andreas Neufert »

As well you said Hyper-V 2008 (R2?)?
Do you have a Hyper-V cluster with Cluster Shared Disks? This needs special planning as Hyper-v Cluster jumps in redirect IO mode and the Hyper-V backend consum lot´s of extra resources to handle this traffic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests