Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Hyper-V specific discussions

Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:08 pm

Hi
Below is an example of my problem:
I have a cluster with 2 hosts.
I have 4 machines, 2 on each host. (a,b,c,d)

I make a replication job for the cluster to a third standalone host.

However, only one machine is replicated at a time.
I want each host to process a maximum of 1 machine at a time, but always process if there is a guest that needs to be processed on that host.

Right now, when I start replication it starts with machine a, and the rest of the 3 are waiting for machine a to be done, before machine b starts and so on.
This way, one of my hosts will always be idle.

How can I minimise the time of replication creation and cpu usage per host?
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:48 pm

ravelin wrote:However, only one machine is replicated at a time.

Kenneth, within a job, VMs are processed sequentially. If you want the VMs to be processed concurrently, put them in separate jobs and schedule the jobs accordingly. (I'm assuming here you have local storage on both hosts, do you?)

ravelin wrote:How can I minimise the time of replication creation and cpu usage per host?

Consider using the offhost backup mode to take data processing off the Hyper-V host. Please review the product user guide for details.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:14 pm

Sorry, dont know why I was not notified of your response to the post.
Since its a cluster with a HP P2000 SAN, they share the same storage. I understand I can do each vm in a job by itself, its just not very flexible and I have to add new jobs each time someone adds a new guest on the cluster.
Will the offhost backup mode lower the time of creation of the replica happening every 15 minutes.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:38 pm

Since it shifts the replication load to a dedicated machine, eliminating unwanted overhead on the production host, this can also lower the time required to perform replication (given the offhost proxy possesses enough CPU resources). Also, since hardware provider is used to take a snapshot, the CSV stays in the redirected mode less time comparing to onhost processing.

However, make sure you deploy an offhost backup proxy on a host that is NOT a part of a Hyper-V cluster (see user guide for details).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:40 pm

I tried to create the replica with standalone hosts.
That way I now have 2 jobs, "replicate hyperv1" and "replicate hyperv2". Both has the target host ReplicaHyperV3.
Now I start "replicate hyperv1" job, and moments later I start "replicate hyperv2".
"replicate hyperv1" Begins to replicate to ReplicaHyperV3.
"replicate hyperv2" says: Waiting for backup infrastructure resources availability

Cant I have more than 1 host replicating at the same time to my destination ReplicaHyperV3?
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:02 pm

What's max concurrent tasks setting in the ReplicaHyperV3 properties?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby chrisdearden » Tue Dec 04, 2012 6:34 pm

If both hosts are using software VSS on the CSV , does that not only allow 1 backup per CSV at a time ?
chrisdearden
Expert
 
Posts: 1529
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:51 pm

That could be another reason with software VSS and Hyper-V 2008. No such limitations if either Hyper-V 2012 or hardware VSS provider is used.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Backup of Cluster only 1 machine at a time?

Veeam Logoby ravelin » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:38 am

It seems that it's because of software vss writer.
The first host who initiates a backup, locks the csv volume in redirected access.
Now I am troubleshooting why the IBM hardware vss provider is not working.
I have support in on it finally.
ravelin
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:37 am
Full Name: Kenneth Westergaard


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests