Backup Proxy when using a NAS

Hyper-V specific discussions

Backup Proxy when using a NAS

Veeam Logoby rene@aksessikt.no » Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi all you guru's :-)

I''m trying to wrap my head around the concept of offhost backup proxy.
I'm using a QNAP NAS with a raid5 setup and 6TB of space. I created 1 iSCSI LUN that uses all the space
I connected the iSCSI connection to my backup server. My backup server is a physical DL320 with w2012R2
everything works fine it uses just much time.
So I tried setting up offhost backproxy's wich I got installed.
I can't use them how ever it seems, I at least can't find any reduction in time :D
So I think it's because the proxy's are not connected to the NAS? M I on the right track?
It is theoretical possible to connect this iSCSI connection i connected at the backup server to the proxy's as well but dose it work that way? Or do I have to invest in a SAN for my backups?
I really would get some directions on this plz.

Regards Rene
rene@aksessikt.no
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:48 pm
Full Name: Rene van Veen

Re: Backup Proxy when using a NAS

Veeam Logoby BartP » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:30 pm

Hey René,

To use an off-host proxy you need to have a VSS hardware provider installed on both your Off-Host proxy and your Hyper-V host.
Also, you indeed need an iSCSI connection to your NAS.
Because the QNAP has neither of those 2, it doesn't work.
Bart Pellegrino,
Veeam Certified Trainer & Architect
twitter: @bpellegrino

Check http://backitup.online for VMCE and VMCE-ADO study materials and practice exams
BartP
Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Netherlands
Full Name: Bart Pellegrino

Re: Backup Proxy when using a NAS

Veeam Logoby rene@aksessikt.no » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:35 pm

Thanks :-)
I was boiling down to that.
Så simply creating an NFS share on the QNAP wouldn't do it either then? Even if i installed the NFS service on all involved machines and mapped it the same way?
That leaves me with buying a SAN or?
Regards Rene
rene@aksessikt.no
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:48 pm
Full Name: Rene van Veen

Re: Backup Proxy when using a NAS

Veeam Logoby BartP » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:04 pm

That's right, and beware that the SAN has a VSS hardware provider!
Some customers in the past, even after mentioning, still bought a SAN without VSS hardware provider.
Bart Pellegrino,
Veeam Certified Trainer & Architect
twitter: @bpellegrino

Check http://backitup.online for VMCE and VMCE-ADO study materials and practice exams
BartP
Certified Trainer
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Netherlands
Full Name: Bart Pellegrino


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests