Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Hyper-V specific discussions

Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Snorri » Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:28 pm

Hi all, I have looked around the Google and browsed on here and cannot find the answer I am looking for. I am using the free version of this software and created backups of my 3 VM's last night. Today I wanted to test the restore to another server to see if it worked. The Hyper-V host is Windows Server 2012 Standard and the servers I have to back them up are 2008 R2 Enterprise. The 2008 boxes have empty Hyper-V installations as I don't plan to run any except in case of emergency. When I go through the restore wizard I get to this step: http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/70/vsphere/ but I have no hosts available to pick.

What am I missing here?
Snorri
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:11 pm
Full Name: Seth Moyers

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:07 am

Hello Seth,

Are you trying to restore these VMs to the Hyper-v 2012? Can you post a screenshot of the added infrastructure and the step of the wizard where you can't pick anything up?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Snorri » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:32 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Seth,

Are you trying to restore these VMs to the Hyper-v 2012? Can you post a screenshot of the added infrastructure and the step of the wizard where you can't pick anything up?

Thank you!


No, I am trying to restore from the 2012 server to one of the 2008 R2 servers. Not sure what you mean by added infrastructure but here is where I am stuck:

Image

And when I click "Host..." there are no options to select so I cannot continue. Maybe I am confused as to what constitutes a host in this instance but I want to select the local server (the local server being 2008 R2 with NO VM's).
Snorri
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:11 pm
Full Name: Seth Moyers

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:40 pm

Have you added 2008 Hyper-V server to the backup console? I believe Vitaliy was referring to Managed servers node that can be found under Backup Infrastructure view. The idea is to see whether the corresponding host is even shown there. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Snorri » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:24 pm

*Slaps forehead*. Yes I didn't add the new local server to Veeam Backup. Now, of course, I get the error "VM version is incompatible with host. Hyper-V 2012 host is required to restore VM". Is there a way to make my backups compatible from 2012 to 2008? If not, this software is unfortunately completely useless in my case.
Snorri
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:11 pm
Full Name: Seth Moyers

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:36 pm

While Restoration from Hyper-V 2008R2 up to Hyper-V 2012 should be supported, the reverse is not. So, from my perspective, the only option will be to update 2008 installation to 2012 and use it as a target for restoration activities. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Snorri » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:19 pm

That's a shame since it is not an option. However, I appreciate you guys providing VERY quick support!
Snorri
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:11 pm
Full Name: Seth Moyers

Re: Can't see hosts when restoring to a new server...?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:21 pm

Snorri wrote:Is there a way to make my backups compatible from 2012 to 2008? If not, this software is unfortunately completely useless in my case.

I believe the issue here is in VM hardware configuration, that is why you cannot restore Hyper-V 2012 VMs to Hyper-V 2008 hosts.

As a workaround you may want to try restoring VM virtual disks (this option is available in the full version of the product) and then attach these disks to the newly created VMs.

Hope this helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blithespirit, Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests