Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Calby
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm
Full Name: Robin Johansson
Contact:

Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Calby » Jan 23, 2018 3:03 pm

Hi,
I'm new to VBR and before it I did use Windows Server Backup.
I'm running Hyper-V with some Ubuntu machines and with Windows Server Backup I did get issues if I did backup a VM that also did have a extra VHDX mounted as a external storage, this is a known bug for Windows Server Backup.

So my question is, Does Veeam have the same bug?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 24, 2018 6:54 am

Robin,

The extra VHDX as external storage. What exactly do you mean? Is it a VM that has multiple disks (VHDX) where one disk is located at the hyper-v host and the other somewhere else?

Calby
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm
Full Name: Robin Johansson
Contact:

Re: Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Calby » Jan 24, 2018 7:29 am

For example.
I'm running Ubuntu on a Hyper-V VM and it's on one VHDX but I also mount (in ubunut) a second VHDX as storage.
Then if I backup it with Windows Backup the VM 'll crash due to some bug, I don't know exactly why but it's something with Windows backup to do and I was just wondering if Veeam also are affected by it?
Here is one example, but they are stating that the issue (bug) are also if your having a DVD mounted.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... onservices

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 24, 2018 7:32 am

Robin,

I haven't heard or seen this problem with Veeam. The only thing I am confused is that you say you mount the second VHDX. Do you mean that in the Hyper-V VM settings, you added it as a second disk? If that is the case, there should be no issues.

Mike

Calby
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm
Full Name: Robin Johansson
Contact:

Re: Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Calby » Jan 24, 2018 8:09 am

What I mean is that I mount the second VHDX in Hyper-V settings for the VM and also in Ubuntu, mount is maybe more of a linux word.

Ok, good! Then I'll take it for a test spinn and see if it works as intended.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can VBR backup 2 VHDX in the same macine without error?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 24, 2018 8:38 am

Then we are on the same page :-)

Yes, it should work. Let me know how it goes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests