Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
craigohler
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 11, 2018 6:41 pm
Full Name: craig ohler
Contact:

Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Post by craigohler » Jan 11, 2018 6:46 pm

I have a environment with a stand alone SCVMM server and am working on building out the DR environment. Can Veeam replicate the SCVMM server itself?

The database will be part of a SQL AlwaysOn Availability Group so that piece is handled. I know you can convert the SCVMM server to a cluster but that seems like a lot of work.

Thanks

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4825
Liked: 509 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 12, 2018 7:17 am

Hi Craig,

It is possible. But you need to keep a few things in mind. SCVMM consists out of roles so are those roles separated or all in the same VM. Will you do Re-IP? (That will probably break a few things since hosts won't be able to talk back to the VMM server and so on). So you can do this, but test it out and see what problems you are going to have. A different IP will probably be your biggest issue.

Cheers
Mike

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4825
Liked: 509 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 12, 2018 7:18 am

PS: If you would go to the route of clustering the SCVMM VM, then you need to make the decision for replication (yes/no) rather fast. Because if you are going to do that in addition to clustering, you have to use FSW quorum instead of the default disk quorum).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests