Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Discussions specific to Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor

Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Veeam Logoby craigohler » Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:46 pm

I have a environment with a stand alone SCVMM server and am working on building out the DR environment. Can Veeam replicate the SCVMM server itself?

The database will be part of a SQL AlwaysOn Availability Group so that piece is handled. I know you can convert the SCVMM server to a cluster but that seems like a lot of work.

Thanks
craigohler
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:41 pm
Full Name: craig ohler

Re: Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:17 am

Hi Craig,

It is possible. But you need to keep a few things in mind. SCVMM consists out of roles so are those roles separated or all in the same VM. Will you do Re-IP? (That will probably break a few things since hosts won't be able to talk back to the VMM server and so on). So you can do this, but test it out and see what problems you are going to have. A different IP will probably be your biggest issue.

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4273
Liked: 480 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can you replicate a SCVMM server?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:18 am

PS: If you would go to the route of clustering the SCVMM VM, then you need to make the decision for replication (yes/no) rather fast. Because if you are going to do that in addition to clustering, you have to use FSW quorum instead of the default disk quorum).
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4273
Liked: 480 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests