Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
dlapointe
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 08, 2019 2:47 pm
Full Name: Dominic Lapointe
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by dlapointe » Feb 15, 2019 3:28 pm

Hi,

I have the same issue here after updating to 9.5 U4

It worked for me as well by changing the "checkpoint file location". However we use CSV volumes so I had to change the location from:
C:\clusterstorage\volume9\dlapVM
to:
C:\clusterstorage\volume9\dlapVM\Snapshots

Works fine now..

dlapointe
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 08, 2019 2:47 pm
Full Name: Dominic Lapointe
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by dlapointe » Feb 15, 2019 3:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Do any of you guys have an official fix for this?

We are afraid of updating our Veeam server to U4 in our hyper-v environment containing over 2000+ VMs.

Imagine having to edit snapshot location of 2k vms...lol

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9605
Liked: 755 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Dima P. » Feb 15, 2019 6:51 pm

Hi folks,

For those of you who faced this error after installing Update 4 please follow this KB article - KB 2890 (fix is included).

P.S. If you see such behavior with previous versions of Veeam B&R please raise support case as most likely that a regular VSS issue that needs to be treated differently.

Ctek
Service Provider
Posts: 66
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2015 3:50 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Ctek » Feb 19, 2019 2:37 pm

Thanks!
VMCE 9 Certified - Systems Administrator

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by ejenner » Feb 19, 2019 3:38 pm

The path in the hotfix KB doesn't exist on my B&R server. So I searched for Veeam.Backup.Core.dll and replaced all instances with the updated version. Not sure if that is going to do more harm than good? Will find out by tomorrow morning. :D

"3.Navigate to the Veeam installation folder on the Veeam Backup Server (by default it is C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup)"

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by ejenner » Feb 19, 2019 3:57 pm

the hotfix fix worked for me.

Just not sure about that path specified in step 3.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 20, 2019 6:40 am

EJ,

Most likely you haven't used the default installation parameters? Because that default path should be correct.
But glad the problem is solved though :-)

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by ejenner » Feb 20, 2019 4:24 pm

I think the only change I made during the installation was to put it on the D: drive. But that shouldn't have created a new entirely different path?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 22, 2019 6:38 am

EJ,

It does, since you have chosen a specific path. It probably will become: D:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup (or even something else if you have customized it further)

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by ejenner » Feb 22, 2019 10:26 am

Ok, I accept what you're saying is most likely correct... but that's pretty unusual for an application to change the installation path because the drive letter changed?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 25, 2019 6:45 am

Actually, that is not entirely true. When you want to install to an alternative location (not the default), many applications allow you to change the entire path. So once you type in a different drive letter, you have the possibility to change it entirely. If you type in D: only, then it will be under that root. There are many applications that work like that I'm afraid and is always something you need to take into account each time you change the default path of a workload.

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 260
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by ejenner » Feb 25, 2019 9:49 am

I just swapped the 'C:' for a 'D:' at the beginning of the path in the box. I left the remaining part as it was. But this is splitting hairs, I got it to work by searching for the .dll and updating all the instances I found. It's been perfect ever since.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5343
Liked: 560 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 26, 2019 7:09 am

If you just switched C and D, then the path should have been D:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup. So that would mean something went wrong. Anyway, you are right. The problem is solved so... ;-)

GladstoneRC
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 28, 2015 4:28 am
Full Name: GladstoneRC
Contact:

Re: Error: The system cannot find the path specified. Failed to

Post by GladstoneRC » Mar 03, 2019 11:34 pm

I had the same error, but for only 3 of our 120 vm's. I changed the snapshot path to be case sensitive and the backups worked. Exact same location but with capitals.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests