Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
AKWilliams
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 23, 2018 10:29 am
Contact:

Exchange 2013 Restore Not Working

Post by AKWilliams » May 23, 2018 10:44 am

Hi there,

I am a network admin for system which requires two physical servers - One online and the other physically disconnected from the other, but fully functional.. Just to note, this is a private network with no conneciton to the internet whatsoever... Strange, but thats how it is!

The live server is MS Server 2012R2 running Hyper-V with the following individual VM's

- Domain Controller
- SQL
- SCCM
- Skype
- Exchange

I have Veeam 9.5 Update 3 running to do my daily backups to a NAS via iSCSI All the backups are enabled for Application Awareness

What i have done so far is on the disconnected server - running Svr 2012R2, Hyper-V and Veeam 9.5 U3 - Imported the backups and restored the VMs back into Hyper V. They all import fine and all of them will boot up. Everything seems to be working just fine with Exchange being the main exception. I can access a users mailbox via the OWA Web interface, but no matter what i've tried, Outlook clients fail everytime. It appears to be a certificate error and after spending 5 days trying to resolve the problem by reissuing certs etc i just cant get it working.

Just to add, i have also tried doing replication from one server to the other.. But results are exactly the same with Exchange. Am i doing something fundamentally wrong here?

Rgds
Aidan

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2013 Restore Not Working

Post by nielsengelen » May 23, 2018 2:36 pm

Which error are you running into (certificate warning/error)? Are you using a valid certicate from an instance or using something self-signed?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

AKWilliams
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 23, 2018 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2013 Restore Not Working

Post by AKWilliams » May 23, 2018 7:50 pm

I've got an internal CA on the DC. Used it when Exch was first installed and its been working fine. As said, the server which the backup has been taken from is also working fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests