Failover doesn't work

Hyper-V specific discussions

Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby atta » Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:49 pm

Hello,

Today I tried to run a test failover. Replica was active in veeam snapshots was created but replica VM on replica server was off. It want start replica vm.

Can anyone help with this, please?
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:12 pm

So you have a successfully finished replication job and try to perform failover via Veeam B&R but the replica VM does not start? Do you get any error messages or something?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby atta » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:57 pm

Hello,

No i didn't get any error message. I have successfully finished rep job but when I start failover i want start replica vm. It will create snapshot and it will not shutdown or pause primary VM.

Replica Vm is off.
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:01 pm

Original VM is not shut down automatically on failover. In a real DR situation (when it is required to start replica VM) it is already off, so to test failover you should shut it down manually.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby atta » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:15 pm

Okay, I will try that asap

Thank you Foggy
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:21 pm

That said, the fact that replica VM is not started on failover should be investigated closer. Though it's not 100% clear what do you mean saying that it is off, probably it is worth contacting support so they could verify your actions.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby atta » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:57 pm

I get this error message
atta
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:22 am
Full Name: Atta Kat

Re: Failover doesn't work

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 04, 2014 4:01 pm

Please avoid posting log snippets and contact technical support team directly.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests