Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questions

Hyper-V specific discussions

Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questions

Veeam Logoby pesos » Sun May 07, 2017 7:52 am

Hi all,

We have two hyper-v clusters in separate datacenters (one 2012r2 and one 2016). Each cluster has a b&r 9.5 (standard essentials) licensed server running independently and backing up both standalone (Exchange, DCs) and clustered VMs.

We have a few VMs that are set up with Hyper-v replica between the clusters, and I've finally made time to look at potentially using Veeam replication instead to avoid the write penalty (is there still a write penalty with 2016 rct?).

How would Veeam replication work in this scenario, where the hosts are already "tied" to their respective local veeam servers?

Many thanks,
Pesos
pesos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:40 am
Full Name: John Johnson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sun May 07, 2017 9:31 pm

Hi John, replication between the datacenters will work fine provided both Veeam B&R instances are kept at the same patch level (since chances are the same hosts will be involved in jobs processed by different Veeam B&R servers).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1132 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby pesos » Mon May 08, 2017 2:41 am

Thanks!

Any thoughts on my other question? Since 2016 now has RCT which appears to be leveraged by b&r 9.5, does native Hyper-V Replica no longer have the oft-chided double write penalty when replicating configuration version 8.0 VMs?
pesos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:40 am
Full Name: John Johnson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby pesos » Mon May 08, 2017 4:52 am

Also, this Veeam document appears to be stating that you cannot have a 2016 source and 2012r2 target:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Is that only if the VMs are configuration version 8.0? The few VMs that we do hyper-v replica with we've specifically kept at version 5.0 so that we can do replica with the 2012r2 cluster.
pesos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:40 am
Full Name: John Johnson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 08, 2017 5:03 am

Hi John,

Native Hyper-V Replica in 2016 still works with the log file as it was with 2012 R2.

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 08, 2017 5:07 am

Hi John,

No, that is not because of the version actually. It is the underlying technology. While the native replica uses a logfile based system, we are using snapshot technology. But there is no compatibility between 2012 R2 and 2016 so we cannot provide that support.

Hope it helps
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby pesos » Mon May 08, 2017 5:08 am

Bummer, will have to stick with native for now until Dell resolves our storage issues with 2016 (not holding my breath).

Thanks Mike.
pesos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:40 am
Full Name: John Johnson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby pesos » Mon May 08, 2017 5:37 am

Looks like native doesn't work that way either lol. Dell ftl. Luckily our critical replication needs are in the 2912r2-->2016 direction
pesos
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:40 am
Full Name: John Johnson

Re: Finally getting around to using the R in B&R, few questi

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon May 08, 2017 5:44 am

No, from 2016 downwards is not supported in native replica also (This was also not the case with 2012 R2 to 2012)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest