First hyperv backup and its remote

Hyper-V specific discussions

First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:27 pm

currently we have version 6.5 and its all veeam modules are on one box with the storage. It backups our 10 ESX host over the network.

Now I have the need to backup a single hyperv host and a hyperv cluster both remote.

I plan on upgrading to V7 before I try to do the remote backups.

I'm a little confused on the way I backup remotely for hyperv.

This is what I think I understand from the docs.

For my single hyperv host, I point veeam to the host machine, it will read the vms running on that machine. veam will install an agent on the hyperv host that will optimize the backup jobs to the central storage over the WAN.

for my hyperv cluster, I should install a windows veeam proxy vm on the off node of the cluster and it will read the vhd files on the shared storage, optimize the backup and send it over the WAN.

Am I correct in my assumptions for these two configs?

thanks,jb
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:56 am 1 person likes this post

Jason, your assumptions are generally correct. Thanks for reading documentation carefully. ;)

However, I would add that even in case of a standalone host with a local storage, you still can perform an offhost backup as described here to reduce the load on the host.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:16 pm

Thank you, the standalone host is the only server at that site.
Probable not a good idea to try to do isci over the WAN :)

I think backups over the weekend will be sufficient for this application.

thanks!
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:00 pm

Sure, this was just FYI. If you need any additional clarification, let us know.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:29 pm

time to dig up this post again :)
I have my hyperv cluster (it is remote from the veeam servers)

I connected to the hyperv cluster through veeam and its can connect.

But now that I re-read the docs I'm confused.

should I make one of the nodes of the cluster a proxy so it can grab files from the CSV and I can use traffic throttling with this proxy.
If I create a vm running on the cluster and make that a proxy it would have to access the vms to backup over the network not direct access to the shared storage correct?

thanks,jb
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:43 pm

benwaynet wrote:should I make one of the nodes of the cluster a proxy so it can grab files from the CSV and I can use traffic throttling with this proxy.

By default, Veeam data mover agent is installed directly on the Hyper-V nodes to perform onhost backup, there's no need to install additional proxy components.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:47 pm

then maybe my issue is that the traffic throttling doesn't seem to be working. I have the source as the subnet for the hyperv servers and the target as my remote veeam backup servers (storage)
but the numbers I see in veeam for traffic are different then what I'm seeing on our network equipment.

Veeam showed 12megs, the network gear showed 50 megs which filled the pipe. I have the throttle at 30megs anytime.
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:16 pm

What kind of target storage do you have?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:07 pm

its local storage to our primary veeam proxy host.

maybe like 15 10k drives

jb
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:29 pm

benwaynet wrote:its local storage to our primary veeam proxy host.

Mm.. could you please elaborate on this? How it is added to the Veeam B&R console (what repository type do you use)?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:13 pm

If this is a CIFS share, then throttling rules will not be used. These rules are applied between components where we can install our services on.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:27 pm

its a windows server here in the data center with local disk (not SAN). the hyperv cluster is remote.

The target storage is also a veeam proxy.

jb
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:21 pm

Jason, are you still on v6.5 or you're using our latest version with the latest patch?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby benwaynet » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:59 am

we are on 7 with the latest patch. I just installed the patch this week, before I tried to setup this hyperv cluster.
benwaynet
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: West Michigan
Full Name: Jason Benway

Re: First hyperv backup and its remote

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:44 pm

Then I would recommend to contact our technical team to review throttling rules configuration and investigate it further.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19540
Liked: 1097 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests