Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Hyper-V specific discussions

Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby enoch » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:22 am

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to backup a Hyper-V 2008r2 server over the WAN through site to site VPN connection. I cannot find any firewall connnection issues.

WAN connection to the host is 100 Mbps.

The Hyper-V 2008r2 host is up to date with all Windows updates and local Windows firewall is disabled.

When making a backup, within 10 min. the backup fails with: 22-02-2015 09:24:42 :: Processing XXXX Error: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host Failed to upload disk. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}.

I've tried with/without Network Traffic rule and with/without "Use multiple upload streams per job"

Currently running newest version of Veeam 8.0.0.917

Anyone have any ideas?
enoch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 pm
Full Name: Peter Enoch

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:23 am

Hello Peter,
Please provide support case ID when posting about errors or technical issues, as requested when you click "New Topic".
The issue might occur if processing the VM with unsupported disks type. Have you used Virtual Appliance mode?
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby enoch » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:28 am

I currently don't have a support case ID..

With Hyper-V backup I only have the option for on-host or off-host backup. On-host backup is selected for this job.

Where do I find "Virtual Appliance mode"? (I think thats a VMware feature?)

All disk on both VM's is Basic
enoch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 pm
Full Name: Peter Enoch

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby enoch » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:37 am

Just opened a case: 00813553
enoch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 pm
Full Name: Peter Enoch

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:57 am

Where do I find "Virtual Appliance mode"? (I think thats a VMware feature?)

Yep, that's VMware only feature. Please, keep working with the support team, because it's hard to speculate about the root cause of the issue without seeing debug logs. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby enoch » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:02 am

I'll do that..

Currently awaits call...
enoch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 pm
Full Name: Peter Enoch

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:46 am

Don't forget to post your ticket number here for the convenience of future readers, and keep us updated on the results of the investigation. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Forcibly closed by the remote host error

Veeam Logoby jmeisel » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:59 pm

Maybe you'll have to configure the space Reservation for Volume-Shadow-Copy on your drives on the remote HyperV-Host?
We had the same issue when the reserved space was much too low.
http://www.veeam.com/kb1855
jmeisel
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests