Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
belrpr
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 2:50 pm
Full Name: Tom L'Ecluse
Contact:

Help with a deployment scenario.

Post by belrpr » Mar 14, 2019 9:57 am

Hi,

I've got a customer with 2 sites. The sites are linked with a wireless link 200Mbps.
They have 2 qnap nas on each site to store the backup.
They want that both NAS devices contain the exact same files.

I've tried using qnap to sync the veeam back-up files but this is too slow because it has to do 2.1TB each night because the full backup name changes and the qnap backup is file level and not block level.

So I was thinking to deploy a gateway server at the other site and use a back-up copy job to copy the first backup over to the second nas.
Will the gateway server prevent the copy of a full backup each night and only transfer the changes?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7050
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Help with a deployment scenario.

Post by Shestakov » Mar 14, 2019 10:04 am

Hi,
Yes, backup copy job will transfer only changes, not full set of backups each day.

belrpr
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 2:50 pm
Full Name: Tom L'Ecluse
Contact:

Re: Help with a deployment scenario.

Post by belrpr » Mar 14, 2019 10:14 am

Yeah but is the gateway server required for this?
The NAS back-up repositories is a shared folder.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7050
Liked: 725 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Help with a deployment scenario.

Post by Shestakov » Mar 14, 2019 10:26 am

If the repositories are shared folders, you do need gateway servers.
Image
If you have instructed Veeam Backup & Replication to automatically select the gateway server, Veeam Backup & Replication will use Veeam Data Movers deployed on mount servers associated with backup repositories. In case mount servers cannot be used for some reason, Veeam Backup & Replication will fail over to the backup server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests