Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Calby
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm
Full Name: Robin Johansson
Contact:

How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by Calby » Feb 10, 2018 4:44 pm

Hi,
I’m wondering how much ram I should dedicate to my Veeam server.
It will backup 4-5 hyper-v vm’s.

I have it devided in to two jobs.

I’m a little confused in this metter so I’m hoping to get the answer for how much ram I need?
Win 2016 need 2GB so how much do Veeam need?

csydas
Expert
Posts: 139
Liked: 29 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by csydas » Feb 10, 2018 7:39 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Robin,

Check out the requirements here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... kup_server

4 GB minimum recommended for the Backup Server itself. You don't have that many VMs, so you can probably work with just that :)

Calby
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm
Full Name: Robin Johansson
Contact:

Re: How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by Calby » Feb 11, 2018 9:06 am

Thanks!
Then I'll dedicate 7GB of RAM to the machine and let it if it needs to go up to 8GB of RAM.

BartP
Veeam Software
Posts: 82
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Aug 31, 2015 8:24 am
Full Name: Bart Pellegrino
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by BartP » Feb 13, 2018 12:23 am 1 person likes this post

It also depends if you have a local SQL Express server running. That will eat up 3-4 GB also.
Bart Pellegrino,
Technical Trainer EMEA

twitter: @bpellegrino
Check http://backitup.online for VMCE and VMCE-ADO study materials and practice exams

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 13, 2018 7:30 am

Bart has a good point and certainly something you need to take into account. When you calculate the amount of RAM needed, keep the other components into account also, especially when you are running everything on a single box.

Cheers
Mike

bhottor
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2018 1:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How much ram should bee good for me?

Post by bhottor » Feb 13, 2018 3:47 pm

There is no way i'd do 8GB of RAM for a Veeam server; although the minimum is 4GB. From experience, i have 192GB of RAM on my Veeam Server running File systems and Hyper-V and ESXi hosts, etc. Although that might seem like an overkill, BartP's point is correct, SQL for all those nodes and jobs does eat up a lot of resources. Visit the Veeam Expert page and which will help you to better scale and understand what you need: https://bp.veeam.expert/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Paul.Loewenkamp and 8 guests