How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Hyper-V specific discussions

How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:05 am

Hello.
We are testing and planning VBR and found some misunderstanding with remote site recover process.
Here is schema
Veeam BR Server 7 <---slow WAN connection to remote site---> Hyper-V 2012 + guest windows server 2008 r2 and backup-proxy (name "test1.domain.local") and some other guests <----LAN--->CIFS (linux cifs share, some soho NAS) Backup Repository with proxying server "test1.domain.local".
We made backup of all guests and "test1.domain.local" to backup share - all right.
Now we are testing DR situation while "test1.domain.local" is broken and inaccessible (veeam services are stopped), but all backup files are accessible at NAS share.
Without backup-proxy we can't restore any VM at this site at all because of error "RPC connection failed %test1_IP_address" - that is correct, backup proxy is "dead".

So the question is: how to recover Backup-Proxy server?

thank you!
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:18 am

Hi, Kirill,

Just to be 100% sure -

You're saying that guest machine named "test1.domain.local" serves a "proxying server" role for the given CIFS repository; if this machine goes down, and you try to initiate restore procedure, it will fail due to "proxying server" unavailability, right?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:22 am

Hello Vladimir.
Yes, you are right.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:33 am 1 person likes this post

If this server is specified manually as a proxying server for the given CIFS repository, then, VB&R will look for it during restore operation. If this server is unavailable, you can go to the repository settings and select any Windows-based machine to perform "proxying server" role. Once different proxying server is specified, the restoration should work without any issues.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:48 am

v.Eremin wrote:If this server is specified manually as a proxying server for the given CIFS repository, then, VB&R will look for it during restore operation. If this server is unavailable, you can go to the repository settings and select any Windows-based machine to perform "proxying server" role. Once different proxying server is specified, the restoration should work without any issues.

Thanks.

I've changed Backup Repository - Proxying Server to "Automatic Selection" instead of ""test1.domain.local" and successfully recovered "test1.domain.local"..
I't so easy and I'm so dumb =(

Thank you very much Vladimir!

One more question - with such configuration how can I determine which Proxy Server is using during backup or restore?
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:52 pm

By default, in case of automatic selection, the first server to be tried as proxying server will be "source" Hyper-V host. As far as I remember, its name will be reflected in the job sessions. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:03 pm

v.Eremin wrote:By default, in case of automatic selection, the first server to be tried as proxying server will be "source" Hyper-V host. As far as I remember, its name will be reflected in the job sessions. Thanks.

nope =(
or I can't find where it is.
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:34 pm

I must have mixed up "proxy" and "proxying server". Only the former will be shown in GUI. However, in case of automatic selection, "source" host will perform both roles (on-host proxy, proxying server); so, you can more or less rely on information regarding the proxy server.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to restore a Backup-Proxy host at remote site?

Veeam Logoby WingDog » Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:46 pm

v.Eremin wrote:I must have mixed up "proxy" and "proxying server". Only the former will be shown in GUI. However, in case of automatic selection, "source" host will perform both roles (on-host proxy, proxying server); so, you can more or less rely on information regarding the proxy server.

Thanks.

ok.
thank you!
WingDog
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:52 am
Full Name: Kirill


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JoshuaPostSAMC and 11 guests