Hyper-v in cluster with SAN

Hyper-V specific discussions

Hyper-v in cluster with SAN

Veeam Logoby roelvdw » Fri Nov 02, 2012 12:14 pm

Hi

This setup for testing veeam for Hyper-v.

Production host = HP DL380 G6 with production VM's
Second host = HP DL360 G6
Repository = HP ML350 G4p with 6 * 750 GB in raid-5. Veeam is installed on this server.

On which host does I have to install the Veeam Proxy server?
On DL380,DL360,ML350 or on another host?

Kind regards
roelvdw
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 1:38 pm
Full Name: Vandewalle Roel

Re: Hyper-v in cluster with SAN

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:20 pm

Hi, off-host proxy should go to DL360, although this is optional - for testing, you can simply use the on-host backup mode (available out of box). Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Hyper-v in cluster with SAN

Veeam Logoby roelvdw » Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:35 pm

Hi

If i am going to do the same without SAN.
Where does I have to install the Veeam Proxy server then?

And which in the following situation :

Production host => Windows 2008 R2 Datacenter Eng with VM's
Secondary host => WIndows 2008 R2 Datacenter Eng without VM's , but Hyper-v is installed
Third host => WIndows 2012 Datecenter without VM's , Hyper-v rol is installed. Veeam is installed on this server. Also use this server as repository with deduplication enabled.

Kind regards
roelvdw
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 1:38 pm
Full Name: Vandewalle Roel

Re: Hyper-v in cluster with SAN

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:39 pm

Without SAN (local storage only), on-host backup mode is your only option, so there is no need to install proxy server anywhere in this case.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests