Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Hyper-V specific discussions

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:27 pm

Try to PM the original poster, as, unfortunately, I have no knowledge on the specifics of IBM storage configuration.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19974
Liked: 1145 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby tysw » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:37 pm

for completeness:
here's a quick guide (not mine) on how to set this up on storwize: http://www.vnotebook.ca/2014/01/configu ... proxy.html

also, i was able to duplicate the behavior that the OP describes and to fix i had to set background copy rate to zero by issuing this command to each of the vm hosts, and the proxy: "C:\Program Files\IBM\Hardware Provider for VSS-VDS\ibmvcfg.exe -set backgroundCopy 0" followed by a service restart.
tysw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:41 am
Full Name: Tyson Wong

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby phernand » Mon Sep 12, 2016 3:00 am

Thank you, but the link is not working
phernand
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby cloudkristen9 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:00 am

There are several options to consider when discussing Hyper-V backup planning. A backup can capture
an entire virtual machine, as a point-in-time snapshot of the entire system. This type of snapshot can be
initiated from the Hyper-V manager or VMM.

However, backup software can also backup applications within the virtual machine, known as application aware
backups. Often, both methods are combined to provide the highest level of integrity and data
recovery. For most Microsoft environments and applications, VSS is the preferred and often only backup
method supported. VSS providers can be both software and hardware based. Most solutions make use of
hardware-based VSS if it is available, as it allows the storage system to do the heavy lifting, rather than
the operating system.
For Hyper-V, the IBM VSS Hardware Provider supports installation within the VM and provides VSS
snapshot capability of direct-attached volumes just like a physical server. These are application-aware
backups, using a VSS requestor and the application writer such as Exchange or SQL Server to coordinate
the snapshots. IBM provides a proven VSS backup solution with IBM Tivoli® Storage FlashCopy®
Manager.
cloudkristen9
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:58 am
Full Name: cloudkristen9

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby tysw » Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:01 pm

phernand wrote:Thank you, but the link is not working


ah yeah i've seen that site go up and down as i've been referring to it. I have an offline copy of it saved and i can PM you a link.
actually i just checked and the site is up again.
tysw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:41 am
Full Name: Tyson Wong

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby phernand » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:55 pm

Thank you again, i have a question in this point, hope you can have some experience about.
In this moment i have just one LUN in the V7000 storage, is of about 7 TB, so is very complicate to buy disk to have two more LUNS of 7 TB for the RESERVED and FREE Lun that the document referes, the VM with the largest disk is about 580 GB, all the rest of the machines have less space asiggned, the quesion is, is absolutly neccesary to have the other two luns for RESERVED and FREE Luns of the same space of the original LUN or is enough for example with two disks of 600 GB understanding that i can send only the number of Jobs that cannot plus more than 600 GB of space?

Hope can explain clearly, and again thanks for your help.
phernand
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby tysw » Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:50 pm

you don't need separate luns for both RESERVED and FREE.
So for example:
- If you have 1 7TB CSV LUN and want to run a max of 1 concurrent veeam job against that CSV, then you of course only need 1 pre-allocated 7TB LUN for flashcopy
- If you have 4 7TB CSV LUNs and want to run a max of 2 conncurrent veeam jobs against the 4 CSVs, then you only need 2 pre-allocated 7TB LUNs for flashcopy

The pre-allocated LUNs do need to be at least thin-provisioned to the same (or larger) capacity. I have tested it a bit, and it does seem that the IBM VSS provider will try to pick the closest in size. I tried this with a mix of 100GB, 1TB and 4TB LUNs.

To get around having to pre-allocate several large chunks of disk, i would recommend moving to smaller CSV LUNs. So in your case, i would convert your CSV from a 7TB to 3x3TB CSV or 4x2TB CSV. If you have some limitation on capacity, then by splitting the CSVs up into smaller chunks also allows you to run more jobs concurrently as well.
tysw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:41 am
Full Name: Tyson Wong

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby phernand » Thu Oct 06, 2016 2:34 am

Hi tsyw, first of all, thank yoy very much for your patience and the time for help me with this case.

I dont have too much experience with this kind of configuration, more specifically with the use of the VSS in the V7000 Storage, as i said in other comments, i have a LUN of 7 TB, you say the process of VSS use flashcopy, i think this means a process between luns, i have a question, if i make the backup of just one VM of 400 GB, is neccesary to have the two LUNS (Reserved & Free) of 7 TB or i can have LUNS of 400 GB?

Another question is, if i want to make a reduction of space in the current LUn of 7 TB, is possible to make this reduction without loosing data and without deleting the Lun?

Thank you
phernand
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby tysw » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:16 pm 1 person likes this post

V7000 has no idea what kind of data is on the lun, so there is no way for it to know your single VM is only consuming 400GB of the available 7TB. When Veeam executes a job, and the hyper-v host tells v7000 to flashcopy (this is via the hardware vss provider), it flashcopies the whole lun.
and again, you don't need two "spare" luns per CSV, you just need one and it needs to be the same size as your CSV lun.

if you want to break your 7TB lun into smaller ones, you'll need to first create the smaller luns and mount them to your cluster as CSVs. Then just do live migration to the new volumes. Once you've evacuated all the VMs from the original 7TB lun, you can disconnect it from cluster, then delete it from v7000.
tysw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:41 am
Full Name: Tyson Wong

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby phernand » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:38 am

Thank you tysw, if i have in this moment just one LUN of 7 TB and i dont have more free space to make a new volume to migrate the VMs to this volume, what can i do, i think for example, to copy all the VMs to an external storage, after this, delete the 7 TB volume and create new volumes two volumes of 3.5 TB for example, one for the VMs and the other for the flashcopy, in this case is possible to create the volumes in Thin Provisioning schema?

Like you suggest is better to have more little volumes, but i have a virtual machine of 3 TB due to this two volumes is what can i do.

Another question, it is possible with the Shrink Volume option to reduce the volume space without afect the data?

Thanks in advance.
phernand
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Oct 28, 2016 5:46 am

Can you check if you have enough space on the local disks on your Hyper-V hosts? In that case, you could do a storage live migration of the VM to the local disk (which is of course something you don't want to have for a long time...) then change the LUN and storage live migrate again to the newly lun. So the procedure would be more or less like this:

* Take a backup first but don't use the hardware VSS (this will take a bit longer but at least you know that you will have a backup in case of an issue during the procedure)
* Storage live migrate the VM to the local disk of a Hyper-V host
* Remove the CSV from the configuration, destroy LUN, create new LUN(s) to your needs, create the CSV again and add it to the cluster
* Storage live migrate the VM to the newly CSV
* Test if a backup with hardware VSS works

My 2 cents
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3382
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby skrause » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:25 pm

phernand wrote:Another question, it is possible with the Shrink Volume option to reduce the volume space without afect the data?

If you are talking about on the Storwize, then No.

At least according to everything IBM's docs and their people have told me.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 308
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby phernand » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:53 pm

Thank you very Much Mike an Skrause, i am planning how to make this configuration and your comments are very helpful!
phernand
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Hyper-V Off-Host Proxy using IBM Storewize v7000

Veeam Logoby serverental2012 » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:48 pm

Cannot comment on the free and reserved volumes questions, but for the off-host proxy server you should have a Hyper-V role enabled. Once this is done, VSS provider is installed and volumes are presented to that server, you should be able to run backups via off-host proxy.
serverental2012
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:17 pm
Full Name: server rental

Previous

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest