Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
spgsit5upport
Expert
Posts: 215
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 28, 2010 10:25 am
Full Name: Seb
Contact:

Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by spgsit5upport » Jul 07, 2016 12:44 pm

I need to replicate all my VMs to remote server (R510 with 33Tb local storage) in a way that could just switch VM on if needed on the same host

What would be the way to do it? Can Veeam be used or shall I go Hyper-V Replica

Thanks

Seb

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by veremin » Jul 07, 2016 1:18 pm

I need to replicate all my VMs to remote server (R510 with 33Tb local storage) in a way that could just switch VM on if needed on the same host
What are referring to by "the same host"? If you replicate VMs offsite, you can easily failover to DR site and failback the workload to production, should need be. Thanks.

spgsit5upport
Expert
Posts: 215
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 28, 2010 10:25 am
Full Name: Seb
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by spgsit5upport » Jul 07, 2016 2:06 pm

Same host is a host in remote location

It is Hyper-V as well as lots of storage (so it serves two purposes in one hardware)

I want to be able to start/run VMs in remote location, should the main site be NOT available for x days

Seb

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by veremin » Jul 07, 2016 2:21 pm

I want to be able to start/run VMs in remote location, should the main site be NOT available for x days
Are you talking here about automatic failover triggered on main site unavailability lasting for several days? Or you just need manual needs to execute failover/failback operations, whenever you want to? Thanks.

spgsit5upport
Expert
Posts: 215
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 28, 2010 10:25 am
Full Name: Seb
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by spgsit5upport » Jul 07, 2016 2:41 pm

NOT at all.

manual action (if I know that main site will not be available = failed) then I MANUALLY want to start VMs in remote site

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by veremin » Jul 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Got it. We call this operation failover and it's included in our product. For more information check the link provided in my first post.

In case or remote replication, this is the recommended approach.

Thanks.

spgsit5upport
Expert
Posts: 215
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 28, 2010 10:25 am
Full Name: Seb
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by spgsit5upport » Jul 08, 2016 5:48 am

OK, any issue with it all being on same physical hardware at remote location?

Seb

spgsit5upport
Expert
Posts: 215
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 28, 2010 10:25 am
Full Name: Seb
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by spgsit5upport » Jul 08, 2016 7:29 am

And also do I run the replication from Veeam server in remote location? (another VM). That would be logical, as in event of main site being down, I have no access to Veeam server to utilize the replicated data

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V replica to offsite Hyper-V server

Post by veremin » Jul 08, 2016 10:19 am

OK, any issue with it all being on same physical hardware at remote location?
Nope, as long as, the underlying server is not underprovisioned in terms of compute resources, everything should be up and running fine.
That would be logical, as in event of main site being down, I have no access to Veeam server to utilize the replicated data
Exactly.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests