Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
papski
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 31, 2019 11:16 am
Contact:

Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by papski »

Hello

We are currently replicating our PROD to DR site via B&R, everything is fine until we hit the network mapping part - source VM has VLAN tagging in Hyper-V, but target side is already tagged on the switch level that we don't have access too. Example source VM VLAN is 300 and target is sent as untagged to the switch. Problem is, in the re-mapping tool when you click a checkbox for VLAN under source network it forces you to provide VLAN on the target network - we just want source to be tagged. We have tried to give target VLAN 0 but still doesn't work.

Is there a workaround for that?

Sincerely

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1464
Liked: 331 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Hi, Papski!

Setting Target VLAN to 0 should disable it.
Feel free to investigate with support at my.veeam.com
Share the case number.

Thanks!

papski
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 31, 2019 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by papski »

Hello Egor,

that's what we thought after reading the document, we did it but after the failover it still tried to assign the incorrect VLAN, for sure we will open a ticket now.

Thank You
Dawid

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1464
Liked: 331 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Make sure to replicate VM at least once after changing the setting.
/Egor

papski
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 31, 2019 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by papski »

Egor,

Confirmed everything is working as intended now, I am not sure why it didn't work last time we tried and I am pretty sure we did allow it to replicate once.

Thanks for your help!

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1464
Liked: 331 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Hyper-V Replication - Enable Source and Disable Target VLAN

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Thanks for update.
Glad it worked out!
/Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 8 guests