I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Hyper-V specific discussions

I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Veeam Logoby ChristianBarrett » Wed Apr 20, 2016 5:48 pm

I've changed the IPAddress for my Hyper-v, the Backups are failing with RPC Server error.
Hyper V in Veeam is looking at the old IP address, I have tried to edit the Hyper-v IP address, but it will not let me change it.
ChristianBarrett
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:13 pm
Full Name: Christian Barrett

Re: I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Veeam Logoby nefes » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:49 pm

Is your server added to Veeam by IP or hostname?
With hostname it should work after changing IP.
With IP you have 2 ways: re-add host by new IP and re-create all jobs (not the best way if you have a lot of jobs and backups) or open support case and ask them to assist you changing IP address in database.
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 534
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Veeam Logoby ChristianBarrett » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:39 am

Thanks for your response, I didn't have many jobs, so I added new host and recreated jobs.
ChristianBarrett
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:13 pm
Full Name: Christian Barrett

Re: I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:07 am

Hi,

Please take a look at this KB, although it describes how to replace a VC it should work for Hyper-V as well.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: I have changed IP address for my Hyper-v

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:22 pm

Also try to run an infrastructure rescan procedure, might fix this as well.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests