Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Hyper-V specific discussions

Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby fohnbit » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:15 pm

Hello!

I installed the free edition on a core Hyper-V Server 2012.
I have no Gui ... only command line.

How can I start the software? :-)
fohnbit
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:32 pm

I'm not sure how you did that :), but you can only use Veeam B&R on the full-blown Windows box.

P.S. on a side note - Windows Server Core can be used as proxy or repository though. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby fohnbit » Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:55 pm

:-) I start the setup.exe and it installed.

I did not found the .exe who I have to start.
I canĀ“t see of course icons, because only text-mode.

But the Hyper-V server 2012 has of course windows! I also use other programms.
It has installed but not sure which exe I have to start, to setup the Backup job.

Thanks!
fohnbit
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:18 pm

Core Windows versions are not supported in terms of installing Veeam B&R console on.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby adrianIDC » Tue May 26, 2015 2:36 pm

It might be not implemented yet to run the software by CMD
adrianIDC
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby acidvenom » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:55 am

Acronis support Hyper-V Server. Why can't Veeam?
acidvenom
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:47 pm

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:53 pm

There are some components that are missing from Core Edition of Hyper-V, however you can always install your Veeam B&R server on any spare computer and use on-host proxy to back everything up.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby acidvenom » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:28 pm

On-host? Maybe off-host?
Off-host proxy requires Server 2008 or higher server OS with Hyper-V role.
That's not so fine and requires additional machine.

I guess problem is in comctl32.dll, Hyper-V Server holds the same file both in Sytetm32 and SysWOW64, Server with GUI - not.
acidvenom
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:47 pm

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 15, 2015 3:46 pm

Actually it is both, once you add your Hyper-V host (server core) to the backup console, our engine installs on-host proxy server components on that box. And of course you can also use this as an off-host proxy server for your backup/replication jobs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Installed on Hyper-V Server 2012

Veeam Logoby acidvenom » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:07 pm

I've found a solution how to teach Hyper-V Server bakup VMs on it via PS script.
If anyone interested I'll post a howto here.
acidvenom
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:47 pm


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests