Memory dump after replicating VM

Hyper-V specific discussions

Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby onus » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:50 am

I have replicated my VM from Server2008 R2 DC to Hyper-V Server 2012 R2 After migrating VM it boots successfully but after login to vm its gives memory dump.
VM is using 2008 R2 Web OS. We also replicated on more VM with Server2003 and its got replicated successfully and boots properly. Can any one tell me what was the issue because i never face such issues before. And if server2003 getting replicated successfully then i don't think so server2008 will have any issues.
onus
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:42 am
Full Name: onus capol

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:08 am

Have you found some related messages in the guest Event Viewer? Might shed the light on the source of the issue. Btw, what kind of VM it is, what apps does it host?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby onus » Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:16 am

VM was hosting DNS & Mail Server. I am not able to give logs as vm gives memory dump after we login to VM. Also we have copied same VHD from host to another host and setup same config manually and it works.
onus
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:42 am
Full Name: onus capol

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:35 pm

Are you able to boot it in safe mode?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby onus » Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:07 am

No i have not checked that whether i can boot the same in safe mode. Also we have boot the replicated virtual machine from hyper-v manager instead of veeam console. Is it necessary to boot replicated virtual mchine should get boot using "Failover Now..." and due to which this issue occurs.
onus
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:42 am
Full Name: onus capol

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:57 am

We do recommend failovering VM via backup console, rather than via HV manager, so that, backup server is aware of that operation. Also, if this VM was backed up with Application Aware Image Processing option enabled, VM running VSS application should have been prepared for successful boot.

Anyway, if the issue persists, you’d better open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby onus » Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:43 am

Ok. Just for my information if i click failovering form backup console. Then primary vm will shuts down automatically or we have to shut it down.?
onus
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:42 am
Full Name: onus capol

Re: Memory dump after replicating VM

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:00 pm

No, unless you select Planned Failover. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests