Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Perry
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 10:19 pm
Full Name: Perry
Contact:

Merge after restore

Post by Perry » Jan 02, 2017 10:39 pm

I restored a VM backup successfully using Veeam. After the restore, a check point for my VM appeared in the Hyper-V manager. I no longer need the check point so I deleted it from Hyper-V Manager which caused a .avhd to .vhd merge as expected. When I start the VM now I get a Boot Failure. The merge must have screwed the image up since the VM did boot before the merge. What is the proper procedure to restore here? I feel I probably didn't do something right.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Merge after restore

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jan 03, 2017 12:00 am

Was it a Instant VM Recovery ? Then you need to start the data transport at the running Instant VM Recovery Job that can be found on top of the Backup & Replication menu.

If production is affected you can open a Support case www.veeam.com/support with Severity 1 to get help immediately.

Perry
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 10:19 pm
Full Name: Perry
Contact:

Re: Merge after restore

Post by Perry » Jan 03, 2017 12:27 pm

Yes it was an Instant VM Recovery. Don't really understand what an instant VM recovery is. I am new to this and the documentation assumes the reader knows a lot of terms that are not further explanation. Not clear what a data transport is in this context and what to do? Production is not affected. I am just testing to understand how this works.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5740
Liked: 612 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Merge after restore

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 03, 2017 12:31 pm

Instant VM Recovery means that you started the VM from the backup repository in order to be up and running quickly. But in that case, it is not the definitive restore as it is running on the backup storage and most probably not on the production storage. That's why you need to finalize the restore (in the background) and that is also why there is an avhd(x) running at that moment.

It is explained in detail here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

If you think you need more information from this documentation, please let us know so we can have a look at it

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests