Migrate to a new Hyper-V Host

Hyper-V specific discussions

Migrate to a new Hyper-V Host

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:26 am

Hi

We need to migrate our VM's off to another HOST. We have the following VMs:

1) Domain Controller
2) Exchange 2016
3) Helpdesk on Win7

We also have a physical second domain controller.

If we:

1) Prepare a new HOST
2) Add the HOST to the Veeam Infrastructure
3) Setup Replication Jobs for the HOST VM's on the gigabit LAN
4) Once in sync, power down the VM' and do a final Sync
5) Failover the VM replicas
6) Test the network and AD replication is ok
7) commit failover to make it permanent

Task complete?

Is there anything I am missing here especially in regards to Active Directory replication with the second physical domain controller
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Migrate to a new Hyper-V Host

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:31 am

Hi Alan,

First: Welcome to the forums.

Your procedure seems very good to me.

For the domain controller: Have a look at this: https://www.veeam.com/kb1277

For the permanent failover, look here for more information: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3381
Liked: 384 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Migrate to a new Hyper-V Host

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:59 pm

I believe that is the migration completed.

Notes:

I used Planned Failover for each VM individually test as going along.
The DC didn't seem to start up in DSRM and even after a reboot during failover the DC booted normally
I had to assign a vswitch following failover as none was selected
Permanent Failover seemed to do the trick although the new VM names still say _replica in Hyper-V Manager, I assume I can just rename the to the original name in Hyper-V manually?

I have updated the backup job (removing VM's then adding back in from the new host)

Thanks for the confidence check Mike
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Migrate to a new Hyper-V Host

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:50 am

Yes, you can rename the VM manually. Btw, original VMs should be automatically put into exclusions list after permanent failover.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15275
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest