Migration while retaining backups

Hyper-V specific discussions

Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby martymidwest » Mon May 19, 2014 5:24 pm

Hello,

I have seen some of the posts on here, but haven't found one that supports my very simple (I think) use case:

I am using Hyper-V 2012 replication and want to fail over to a replica OR move a server.

The trick is, I then want my Veeam backups to realize that is the same machine and do incremental backups from where it left off.

I was able to migrate a VM off (replication failover), wipe out the machine, upgrade the storage, rebuild the host from scratch, then migrate it BACK. The backups picked up right where they left off.

Given that experience, I posit that it *must* be possible to simply change the source HOST machine in a config file or something and then have it just keep doing what it's doing, only from a different place. Right?

In the past, when I moved a VM from one machine to another via Hyper-V's "Move" operation, I had to remove the old source and add a new one, causing another full backup of that machine (which I can't afford for multiple machines).

Please, someone tell me that you've found a way to do this!

Thanks,

--Marty
martymidwest
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:25 am
Full Name: Marty O'Brien

Re: Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 20, 2014 2:48 pm

Marty, Veeam B&R treats the migrated VMs as new ones, that's why full backup is required after using Hyper-V migration (to continue previously created jobs, you could map the jobs to existing backup files, though).

I don't believe it is possible to "simply change the source HOST machine in a config file" somehow, instead of actually migrating VMs (is that what you're asking about?). However, what you could probably do is asking support for assistance in editing Veeam B&R database to reflect the migration so that jobs could continue normally.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby martymidwest » Tue May 27, 2014 1:31 pm

foggy wrote: However, what you could probably do is asking support for assistance in editing Veeam B&R database to reflect the migration so that jobs could continue normally.


I had already done that before posting this. The support technician that worked my ticket, unfortunately, didn't believe there was any way to do it. I figured I might have better luck posting on a forum where it might be seen by people who have some ideas how to do it, instead of simply relying on one person's experience.

I'm a firm believer that just because something hasn't been done before doesn't mean that it is impossible. This theory is based on another theory that anything is possible depending on how badly you want it.

Since we don't have the space or time to create new full backups every time we move a VM, I figured other people might have had the same requirements/experience and would be willing to contribute to a solution. I certainly am.

In the meantime, we are performing backups from our replicas (provided by Hyper-V, not Veeam), which all reside on a single machine. This appears to be a good workaround as we can move machines among the source machines, but the replicas always stay in the same place. We only seem to have minor issues with resource locking, etc. that clear themselves up on a retry. Better than before, but still not exactly ideal.

If anyone wants to take a crack at this with me, please let me know.

Thanks,

--martymidwest
martymidwest
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:25 am
Full Name: Marty O'Brien

Re: Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 27, 2014 1:57 pm

martymidwest wrote:I had already done that before posting this. The support technician that worked my ticket, unfortunately, didn't believe there was any way to do it.

What is your support case number? I would like to double-check on that.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby martymidwest » Tue May 27, 2014 2:01 pm

Case # 00567640
martymidwest
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:25 am
Full Name: Marty O'Brien

Re: Migration while retaining backups

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 28, 2014 3:22 pm

Thanks, support says they have never tried that for Hyper-V (though did several times for VMware) since there were no such requests. However, I suppose, this should be possible.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests