Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Andrew.L
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 1:39 pm
Contact:

Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by Andrew.L » May 29, 2017 5:38 am

Hi all,

I love the handy field in VMM for 'Veeam Backup Job', which quickly tells us which job the VM is getting backed up by in Veeam.
However i've noticed that the field isn't always accurate,e.g. some VMs we know ARE getting backed up by Veeam have nothing in the field, whereas some have populated entries but aren't backed up by Veeam anymore.
Does anyone know where exactly VMM gets its information, and how to trigger a refresh?
Note, performing the following don't seem to do anything for this field:
* refresh of the VM within VMM
* rescan of the SCVMM entry within Veeam infrastructure
* an 'Update-ClusterVirtualMachineConfiguration' command run from PS, for the VM and cluster in question

Thx heaps in advance.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by foggy » May 30, 2017 5:22 pm

Could you please post a screenshot of SCVMM where this field is visible?

Andrew.L
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by Andrew.L » May 31, 2017 5:27 am

Here's how to add to SCVMM:
Image

Here's what it looks like once added:
Image

Btw, I have a job logged with Veeam atm (first level investigation unable to resolve why the field isn't updating, I'm waiting on an escalated investigation).
Job#: 02170747

Thx,
Andrew.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by foggy » May 31, 2017 12:44 pm

I'm pretty sure Veeam B&R doesn't set this attribute, should be something else. Do you probably have MP?

Andrew.L
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by Andrew.L » Jun 01, 2017 12:26 am

Hmm good question! It's quite possible it was something that was installed some time ago, and perhaps/probably hasn't been updated to coincide with our Veeam upgrades, and thus this could be why the field doesn't seem to be updating in VMM ??
I'll dig deeper into that possibility and feed back with what I find out.

Andrew.L
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by Andrew.L » Jun 01, 2017 3:05 am 1 person likes this post

So it turns out this has nothing to do with any Veeam/SCVMM integration; it's simply a VMM 'custom property', added by a colleague, which was populated using a PS script some time back :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Missing 'Veeam Backup Job' field in SCVMM

Post by foggy » Jun 01, 2017 12:56 pm

That explains. ;) Thanks for getting back with this.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests