Moving backup jobs between two Veeam installations?

Hyper-V specific discussions

Moving backup jobs between two Veeam installations?

Veeam Logoby Sezam » Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:48 pm

Hello,

Here is my scenario:

I have Veeam01 machine with Veeam B&R software installed which is backing up virtual machines from Hyper-V host HV01 to repository on network storage device NAS01.

I have another machine called Veeam02 with Veeam B&R software and I need now that machine to manage all the backups from the same HV01 Hyper-V host to the same repository on NAS01.
Is it possible to move all the jobs from Veeam01 to Veeam02?

It would be nice to do this and perhaps just do some modifications to all the jobs rather than recreating all the jobs from scratch on Veeam02.

Regards,
Adrian
Sezam
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:09 am
Full Name: Adrian Korzystko

Re: Moving backup jobs between two Veeam installations?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Adrian, do you want to keep the jobs/configuration that are currently being performed by the Veeam02 server (if any)? If yes, then the only way to move jobs is to re-create them on the Veeam02 server and then map to existing backup files. Otherwise, if this is going to be a brand new Veeam B&R server, then you can utilize configuration export/import functionality that will transfer entire Veeam01 server configuration to the Veeam02 server.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving backup jobs between two Veeam installations?

Veeam Logoby Sezam » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:13 pm

Unfortunately I have already a few running jobs on Veeam02 which I want to preserve, however there only a few jobs there while there is over 30 jobs on Veeam01, so I'm thinking it might be worth the effort of losing configuration of Veeam02 and recreating the few jobs.

Thank you for quick answer, that was the answer I was looking for.

Adrian
Sezam
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 10:09 am
Full Name: Adrian Korzystko

Re: Moving backup jobs between two Veeam installations?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:49 pm

Yes, in this case I would also go this way. Btw, you could also involve Powershell for some automation here.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests