moving backup repository

Hyper-V specific discussions

moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby mohd.omar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:34 am

Hello all,
I am looking to format backup repository without losing the saved backups

(backup configuration,backup jobs etc...), so is there any article to see

the correct process for that?
I am looking to return back everything even the backup repository name.

any reply or help would be highly appreciated
mohd.omar
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:23 am
Full Name: Mohd Omar

Re: moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:39 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

This is the KB we have https://www.veeam.com/kb1729
But I am not certain if I understand everything. You have a VBR server and a repository connected to it (what type of repository is it? Is it DAS on the VBR server, something remote...). Where are you going to move the backup files too before formatting that volume?

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby mohd.omar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:51 am

Hi Mike,
thanks for your reply,
it's nas storage connected to veeam server through (ISCSI) .
my backups can be transferred temporarily to a different network drive. then I will return back after I finish the format process.

cheers

Mohd
mohd.omar
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:23 am
Full Name: Mohd Omar

Re: moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:56 am 1 person likes this post

In that case I think doing a rescan afterwards should do the trick and there is no need for more action.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

You will notice in that document that there might be some additional work you will need to do afterwards. It might even be necessary to remap your jobs to the "new" repository even when it has the same name. The ID is probably going to be different.

Just in case, make a configuration backup: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Mike

PS: Are you formatting to another filesystem?
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby mohd.omar » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:37 am

Hi Mike,
thanks for the helpful information.
actually I am trying to convert the drive from MBR to GPT, to expand the drive size.
mohd.omar
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:23 am
Full Name: Mohd Omar

Re: moving backup repository

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:38 am 1 person likes this post

In that case I'm pretty sure it will be seen as a new repository (different ID etc...) so take that into account
Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TitovLab and 13 guests