Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
Nigthawk86
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 17, 2021 1:57 pm
Full Name: sean ebanks
Contact:

Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by Nigthawk86 »

Hi,

Can anybody provide steps on moving from DPM backup to Veeam B&R please?

My main concern is being able to restore backups that were done via DPM using the Veeam console.

Is it possible to import DPM backups into Veeam?

I just need to understand what the best approach for this would be.

Thanks in advance.

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 1137
Liked: 177 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by PetrM » 2 people like this post

Hi Sean,

Welcome to our Community Forums!

There is no option to restore data from backups created by application of another vendor using Veeam. You will need to start backup chains from scratch.

Thanks!

Nigthawk86
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 17, 2021 1:57 pm
Full Name: sean ebanks
Contact:

Re: Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by Nigthawk86 »

Ok, thank you very much at least i know where we stand now.

Can Veeam and DPM run side by side on the same server? But DPM not running any backup jobs, just to be used until retention period has been met, then it can be removed

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 1137
Liked: 177 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by PetrM » 1 person likes this post

I would say that it's fine unless the 3rd party backup solution does not run any jobs against the same workloads which are processed by Veeam but I never tested it so I cannot guarantee that you will not encounter some issues. Probably, it would make sense to perform migration gradually: for example to test just a few jobs in the beginning and migrate all remaining ones when you see that the environment is stable enough.

Thanks!

Nigthawk86
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 17, 2021 1:57 pm
Full Name: sean ebanks
Contact:

Re: Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by Nigthawk86 » 1 person likes this post

Yep, that makes sense!

Thank you for the advice!

We are a Veeam ProPartner, but I haven't ever being involved in a scenario like this, so needed to reach out for some advice.

Regnor
Veeam Legend
Posts: 439
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: Moving from DPM to Veeam B&R

Post by Regnor » 2 people like this post

In addition to Petr's answer, you won't be able to access tape drives in parallel from both solutions. The first service/process locks the tape drives for any other software.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests